Berna Named IIAC Coach of the Year, Barwick and Watkins First Team All-IIAC

Nov 9, 2012 | J.Crane

CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA - The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) announced today that Loras College junior defender Kinsey Campbell and Wartburg College senior midfielder Cathy Reiter have been named co-recipients of the 2012 IIAC Women’s Soccer Most Valuable Player Award. Central College head coach Mike Kobylinski, University of Dubuque head coach Jason Berna and Loras College head coach Dan Rothert will share 2012 IIAC Women’s Soccer Coach of the Year honors.

- Berna Named Coach of the Year –
University of Dubuque Women’s Soccer Head Coach Jason Berna was named IIAC Coach of the Year for the third time. He also won the award in 2005 and 2009. The Spartans finished the 2012 season 11-7-2 and 4-2-1 in the Iowa Conference for third place. UD went on to win two games in the IIAC Tournament to reach the Finals before being defeated. After a 2-5-1 start, UD went on to win 9 of their last 12 games while outscoring the opposition 31-12. The Spartans win over Wartburg in the semifinals sent UD to their second finals appearance in four years.

Berna, the only coach in UD Women’s Soccer history has won 121 games plus another 52 as the Men’s Soccer Coach from 2001-2008. The Spartans have qualified for nine straight IIAC Tournaments and 10 of 12 since the team began in 2001.

- Barwick and Watkins Chosen 1st Team All-IIAC –
Earning First Team All-Iowa Conference for the Spartans were Ashley Barwick (Appleton, Wis./Xavier) and Alexandra Watkins (Northbrook, Ill./Glenbrook North), it is the second time for each. 

Barwick, a senior defender, has been the Spartans leader on the defensive side of the field for the last two seasons. During her four years as a Spartan, the team has recorded 27 shutouts. A four year starter, she finished the season with one goal in 19 starts. Barwick was also recently named FirstTeam Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-District for the second time. She was named First Team All-IIAC in 2011.

Watkins, a junior midfielder/forward, led the Spartans with a career high 13 goals and four assists. Her midseason shift to midfield sparked a 9-1-1 stretch in which UD outscored their opponents 30-9 and posted five shutouts. She finished fifth in the IIAC with 30 points and 13 goals. Watkins had an impressive five game stretch with a goal in each game, finding the back of the net a total of eight times. She was also named Iowa Conference Performer of the Week two times during the 2012 season. A three time, All-IIAC performer, Watkins earned Second Team in 2011 and First Team in 2010.

- Waddell Voted to 2nd Team. DeLass, Prudhomme, and Siepler Honorable Mention –
Sophomore defender Lauren Waddell (Poplar Grove, Ill./Belvidere) earned second team for her defensive work. Waddell teamed with Barwick to form one of the best lines in the IIIAC. She finished the season with three assists. 

A first year starter in goal, Loisann DeLass (Albuquerque, N.M./Hohenfels) earned Honorable Mention All-IIAC. DeLass finished the year with a 9-2 record and four shutouts. She set a new school record by going 504:09 minutes without allowing a goal.

Sophomores Melanie Prudhomme (Lakemoor, Ill./Wauconda) and Megan Siepler (La Canada, Calif./La Canada) each earned Honorable Mention for the 2012 season. Prudhomme finished the season with one goal and three assists from her midfield position. She was one of two Spartans to start all 20 games this season. Siepler scored six goals and assisted on three others for a total of 15 points scored. She had a team high four game winners.

The IIAC also announced the 2012 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team. The 26-member Team includes 15 repeat All-Conference performers. All eight institutions garnered at least one All-IIAC honor in 2012. Iowa Conference runner-up Wartburg leads all schools with seven all-conference selections, has only three first-teamers. Conference champion Loras was next with four all-league picks, but had an IIAC-high four named to the first team. Dubuque and Luther had three selections each, followed by Buena Vista, Central and Simpson with two apiece, while Coe picked up the remaining all-conference honor.

The complete teams can be found at: