Women's Soccer Receives NSCAA Ethics Award

Jan 2, 2013 | J.Crane

DUBUQUE, IOWA - The University of Dubuque Women's Soccer team has been awarded the 2012 National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Team Ethics Award. The Spartans earned the Silver Award for receiving no red cards and no more than five yellow cards accumulated during the season. UD was the only Iowa Conference school to be honored and one of five schools in all of Iowa to receive a Team Ethics Awards of any level.

A record 96 teams received either the Gold, Silver or Bronze version of the Team Ethics Award, which recognizes teams that exhibit fair play, sporting behavior and adherence to the laws of the game, as reflected by the number of yellow caution cards or red ejection cards they are shown by referees throughout the season. A total of 59 teams claimed the Silver Award.

The complete list of Team Ethics Award winners can be found at: TEAM ETHICS AWARD

The Spartans finished the 2012 season with an overall record of 11-7-2 and finished in third place in the Iowa Conference at 4-2-1. UD advanced to the finals of the IIAC Tournament. Dubuque made its ninth straight appearance in the tournament and second championship game in four years. The Spartans will return eight starters and 17 letter winners for the 2013 season.

Head Coach Jason Berna was named IIAC Coach of the Year while Ashley Barwick and Alexandra Watkins were First Team selections. Lauren Waddell was named Second Team All-IIAC. Loisann DeLass, Melanie Prudhomme, and Megan Siepler were recognized as Honorable Mention All-IIAC. Watkins was also chosen Third Team NSCAA All-North Region for her outstanding season.

In addition, Ashley Barwick become the programs first Academic All-American. Barwick was also named First Team Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-District for the second straight year. Nine Spartans earned Academic All-Iowa Conference including Barwick, Elise Chalus, Loisann DeLass, Elizabeth Frazier, Chelsea Hawkins, Melanie Prudhomme, Melissa Sawyer, Megan Strawn, and Lauren Waddell.