2012 Football Awards Announced at Banquet

Feb 11, 2013 | UD Sports Info

DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque football coaches announced several team awards at the 2012 end of season banquet held on February 10, 2013. The Spartans tied for second in the Iowa Conference and finished 5-5 overall in 2012. The 2012 Offensive Most Valuable Player on his team and for the Iowa Conference, Wyatt Hanus, completed 258 of 390 passes for 3,165 yards and a league-high 27 touchdowns while directing Dubuque's league-leading passing offense. He also ranked second in the IIAC in pass efficiency (153.6) and total offense (314.5 ypg). Hanus topped 300 yards passing in six games, topping out at 412 yards against Central on Sept. 29. He ranks 16th in NCAA Division III in total offense and 29th in pass efficiency.

Hanus, a two-time first team all-league signal-caller, ranks fifth among Division III quarterbacks in passing yards, ninth in passing yards per game and 10th in completions per game. He concludes his career at Dubuque as the schools career leader in passing yards (8,394), completions (670) and touchdowns (82) while ranking second in passing attempts (989). Hanus holds the top two single-season UD totals in passing yards, completions and touchdowns and holds two of the top four totals in attempts and total offense.

In addition to owning seven of the top 20 single-game passing yardage totals, he holds UDs single-game marks for touchdowns (7 vs. Buena Vista, 2011) and completions (37 vs. Central, 2012). The seven touchdown passes against Buena Vista are an Iowa Conference record, as were the 35 scoring strikes in league play in 2011. Hanus figured prominently in a third IIAC record as 21 of his 37 completions at Central in 2012 went to Austin Morgan, setting a new single-game league mark for receptions.

Hanus is the second University of Dubuque student-athlete in a row to be named the leagues top offensive player after 2011 Gagliardi Trophy winner Michael Zweifel, and just the third Dubuque player to be named an Iowa Conference MVP, joining Zweifel and Rick Steil, who captured the award in 1979. He was also a two-time Capital One CoSIDA Academic All-Region honoree and an Academic All-America selection in 2011. He was a semi-finalist for National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Award.

Head coach Stan Zweifel and his staff honored and announced the following awards as voted on by the football student-athletes:

Coaches Award - David Losasso (Sr., LB, Bettendorf, Iowa)

Offensive Lineman - Richard Skaife (Sr., OL, DeForest, Wis.)

Highest Team Grade Point Average - Tyson Carter (Jr., Long Snapper, Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada)

Special Teams: Heriberto Sandoval (Fr., K, St. Francis, Wis.)

Newcomer - Blaine Snitker (Fr, LB, Waukon, Iowa)

MVP Defense - Trevor Runkle (Sr., LB, Dodgeville, Wis.)

MVP Offense - Miles Hookstead (Sr., TE, Whitewater, Wis.)

Team MVP - Wyatt Hanus (Sr., QB, Traer, Iowa) 

2013 UD Team Captains - Austin Hatzinger (Jr., OL, DeForest, Wis.); Sean Anderson (Jr., WR, Yorkville, Ill.); Ryan Arnold (Jr., DL, Kenosha, Wis.); Dustin Sorrentino (Jr., LB, Walworth, Wis.)