IIAC Tourney Champions, Spartans Make NCAA Tournament Field

Feb 23, 2013 | UD Sports Info

DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque men's basketball captured it's first Iowa Conference Tournament Championship on Sunday, Feb. 24 in front of the largest crowd the Spartans have played in front of in Stoltz Sports Center since it's renovation. UD trailed by six points to the Wartburg College Knights in the opening half 27-33. The Spartans turned the scoring on and out scored the Knights in the second half 46-27 to capture the contest 73-60.

UD started the contest struggling to find a basket, Miles Hookstead was a one man scoring machine, who kept the Spartans within a whisper of losing sight of the Knights in the opening 20 minutes of action. Wartburg came out and sank five baskets from the three point area in the first half to give the Knights a spark for coach Dick Peth. Andre Norris stepped it up in the second half to match the leading scorer of Hookstead who finished with 17 points. Mitch Michaelis finished with 13 points and led in the game with six assists. Isaiah Reeves helped stretch the Spartan lead in the second half when he sank three balls from deep outside to finish with nine points. 

Hookstead led all rebounders in the contest with 10 rebounds which included six offensive boards. UD out rebounded the Knights 38-25 and out scored them in the paint 38-21. The Knights defensively forced the Spartans into committing 13 turnovers and scored 21 points off UD's miscues. 

UD enter the tournament with a 22-6 record and will learn on Monday who and where they will play in the 2013 NCAA Division III National Championships. The NCAA selection show will begin at 11:30 (Central time). 


Here are the 42 conferences with automatic bids to the 2013 NCAA Division III men’s basketball tournament and winners, when clinched. Each team’s seed in the conference tournament is noted in parentheses. Congratulations to Concordia-Texas, Fitchburg State, St. Vincent and Spalding on earning their first ever trip to the NCAA Division III men’s basketball tournament.

For teams not in one of these 42 conferences, there is one bid set aside (Pool B). There are 19 at-large bids (Pool C) that make up the rest of the field.

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference: Penn State-Behrend (3)
American Southwest Conference: Concordia, Tex. (West-2)
Capital Athletic Conference: St. Mary’s, Md. (1)
Centennial Conference: Dickinson (2)
City University of New York Athletic Conference: Staten Island (1)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin: North Central, Ill. (2)
Colonial States Athletic Conference: Cabrini (1)
Commonwealth Coast Conference: Curry (1)
Empire 8: Ithaca (2)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Albertus Magnus (2)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Rose-Hulman (1)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Dubuque (3)
Landmark Conference: Catholic (1)
Liberty League: Hobart (1)
Little East Conference: Rhode Island College (1)
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference: Fitchburg State (5)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Calvin (1)
Middle Atlantic Commonwealth: Alvernia (1)
Middle Atlantic Freedom: Delaware Valley (2)
Midwest Conference: St. Norbert (1)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: St. Thomas (1)
New England Collegiate Conference: Elms (1)
New England Small College Athletic Conference: Amherst (1)
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference: WPI (1)
New Jersey Athletic Conference: Ramapo (1)
North Atlantic Conference: Husson (2)
North Coast Athletic Conference: Ohio Wesleyan (2)
North Eastern Athletic Conference: Morrisville State (1)
Northern Athletics Conference: Aurora (2)
Northwest Conference: Whitworth (1)
Ohio Athletic Conference: Marietta (2)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Randolph-Macon (3)
Presidents Athletic Conference: St. Vincent (1)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Spalding (1)
Skyline Conference: SUNY-Purchase (2)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Redlands (1)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference: Trinity, Tex. (1)
State University of New York Athletic Conference: Cortland State (1)
University Athletic Association: Washington U. (no tournament)
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference: Northwestern, Minn. (1)
USA South Athletic Conference: Christopher Newport (1)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: UW-Whitewater (2)