Spartans Qualify Five for DIII Championships

Mar 2, 2013 | J.Crane

DUBUQUE, IOWA - The University of Dubuque Wrestling team will be well represented at the NCAA Division III National Championships with five Spartans qualifying with top three finishes at the Central Region Championships. UD placed third overall with 110.5 team points. The NCAA DIII Championships will take place March 15-16 in Cedar Rapids at the Cedar Rapids Ice Arena.

Sophomore Brian Travis (Redington Shores, Fla./Northside Christian) won the individual title at 141 pounds. He finished the day with a pin, major decision, decision, and bye accounting for 18 team points. Travis is a first time national tournament qualifier.

Seniors Chris Sokol (Lodi, Wis./Lodi) and Ryan Warczynski (Minooka, Ill./Minooka) each finished second at 133 pounds and 157 pounds respectively. Sokol earned wins by decision in the quarterfinals and semifinals before being pinned in the finals. Warczynski won in the quarterfinals by pin and advanced to the finals with a 3-2 decision. Warczynski is a four time national qualifier while Sokol will be making his first appearance.

Earning automatic bids for third place finishes were Eric Powell-Adair (Bellwood, Ill./Montini Catholic) at 149 pounds andJoe Kubica (Lake Park, Ill./Lake Park) at 165 pounds. Powell-Adair and Kubica will each be making their first trip to the national tournament.

All five of the national qualifiers were also named All-Iowa Conference based on their performance.

Derek Mizaur (Sherrard, Ill./Sherrard) finished in fourth place at 174 pounds. Mizaur also earned All-Iowa Conference by being one of the top three finishers among IIAC schools at his weight class.

Nicholas Rivera (Mesa, Ariz./Red Mountain) posted the fastest pin of the day for the Spartans in his Second Round match-up in the Consolation bracket by earning a fall in just nine seconds. Rivera finished in fifth place at 125 pounds. 


NCAA DIII Regional - Central Results for Dubuque
125 - Nic Rivera (12-16) placed 5th and scored 9.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Nic Rivera (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Quarterfinal - G.Camacho (Wartburg) won by major decision over Nic Rivera (Dubuque) (Maj 10-0)
    Cons. Round 2 - Nic Rivera (Dubuque) won by pin over Matthew Sugai (Knox) (Pin 0:09)
    Cons. Round 3 - Nic Rivera (Dubuque) won by decision over Ben Rosen (Cornell) (Dec 7-5)
    Cons. Semi - Nick Scheffert (Luther) won by pin over Nic Rivera (Dubuque) (Pin 2:47)
    5th Place Match - Nic Rivera (Dubuque) won by decision over J. Panozzo (Augustana) (Dec 3-2)

133 - Chris Sokol (16-6) placed 2nd and scored 13.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Chris Sokol (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Quarterfinal - Chris Sokol (Dubuque) won by decision over Aaron Anderson (Central) (Dec 6-0)
    Semifinal - Chris Sokol (Dubuque) won by decision over Nick Steger (Loras) (Dec 4-3)
    1st Place Match - Kenny Anderson (Wartburg) won by pin over Chris Sokol (Dubuque) (Pin 1:04)

141 - Brian Travis (16-8) placed 1st and scored 18.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Brian Travis (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Quarterfinal - Brian Travis (Dubuque) won by pin over TJ Peretti (Central) (Pin 5:00)
    Semifinal - Brian Travis (Dubuque) won by decision over Thomas Mirocha (Wartburg) (Dec 11-6)
    1st Place Match - Brian Travis (Dubuque) won by major decision over Kyle Windquist (Luther) (Maj 16-3)

149 - Eric Powell (7-4) placed 3rd and scored 13.50 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Eric Powell (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Quarterfinal - Eric Powell (Dubuque) won by major decision over Dakota Gray (Luther) (Maj 12-3)
    Semifinal - Trevor Engle (Cornell) won by decision over Eric Powell (Dubuque) (Dec 14-10)
    Cons. Semi - Eric Powell (Dubuque) won by decision over Ryan Davis (Central) (Dec 3-2)
    3rd Place Match - Eric Powell (Dubuque) won by major decision over Dakota Gray (Luther) (Maj 11-3)

157 - Ryan Warczynski (28-9) placed 2nd and scored 15.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Ryan Warczynski (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Quarterfinal - Ryan Warczynski (Dubuque) won by pin over Seth Shatto (Buena Vista) (Pin 0:59)
    Semifinal - Ryan Warczynski (Dubuque) won by decision over Dimitri Boyer (Coe) (Dec 3-2)
    1st Place Match - Cole Welter (Wartburg) won by decision over Ryan Warczynski (Dubuque) (Dec 3-0)

165 - Joe Kubica (21-11) placed 3rd and scored 14.50 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Joe Kubica (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Quarterfinal - Joe Kubica (Dubuque) won by pin over Colin Bertucci (Cornell) (Pin 5:00)
    Semifinal - Landon Williams (Wartburg) won by tech fall over Joe Kubica (Dubuque) (TF 16-0)
    Cons. Semi - Joe Kubica (Dubuque) won by decision over Joe Butler (Loras) (Dec 10-6)
    3rd Place Match - Joe Kubica (Dubuque) won by major decision over Cory Stratton (Simpson) (Maj 20-6)

174 - Derek Mizaur (28-10) placed 4th and scored 9.50 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Derek Mizaur (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Quarterfinal - Derek Mizaur (Dubuque) won in sudden victory - 1 over Greg Barner (Central) (SV-1 7-4)
    Semifinal - Ethan Ball (Coe) won by decision over Derek Mizaur (Dubuque) (Dec 4-3)
    Cons. Semi - Derek Mizaur (Dubuque) won in sudden victory - 1 over Brent Hamm (Cornell) (SV-1 8-1)
    3rd Place Match - Matt Burns (Augustana) won by decision over Derek Mizaur (Dubuque) (Dec 4-0)

184 - Logan Einerson (21-6) placed 5th and scored 10.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Logan Einerson (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Quarterfinal - L. Einerson (Dubuque) won in sudden victory - 1 over J. Richardson (Aug.) (SV-1 6-4)
    Semifinal - Brian Broll (Buena Vista) won in tie breaker - 1 over Logan Einerson (Dubuque) (TB-1 2-1)
    Cons. Semi - Sam Upah (Wartburg) won by decision over Logan Einerson (Dubuque) (Dec 3-0)
    5th Place Match - Logan Einerson (Dubuque) won by pin over Jordan Richardson (Augustana) (Pin 4:22)

197 - Cody Ortmann (9-13) placed 6th and scored 8.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Cody Ortmann (Dubuque) won by decision over J. Bronaugh (BV) (Dec 8-4)
    Quarterfinal - Alex Coolidge (Cornell) won by tech fall over Cody Ortmann (Dubuque) (TF 21-4)
    Cons. Round 2 - Cody Ortmann (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Cons. Round 3 - Cody Ortmann (Dubuque) won by medical forfeit over Theron Stewart (Central) (MFF)
    Cons. Semi - Trent Flegel (Luther) won by pin over Cody Ortmann (Dubuque) (Pin 1:51)
    5th Place Match - Malcolm Watson (Loras) won by decision over Cody Ortmann (Dubuque) (Dec 4-2)

285 - Kyle Fredette (5-12) place is unknown and scored 0.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - J. Crawford (Central) won in tie breaker - 1 over Kyle Fredette (Dubuque) (TB-1 4-3)
    Cons. Round 1 - Kyle Fredette (Dubuque) received a bye () (Bye)
    Cons. Round 2 - S. Bora (Knox) won in sudden victory - 1 over Kyle Fredette (Dubuque) (SV-1 7-5)