NCAA DIII Wrestling Championships Info

Mar 14, 2013 | J.Crane


Championships Bracket  

DUBUQUE, IOWA – The University of Dubuque Wrestling team is gearing up for the NCAA DIII Wrestling Championships on Friday, March 15 and Saturday, March 16 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. The Spartans qualified a school record five individuals for the championships with their performances at the 2013 Central Region Championships. First Round matches from the Cedar Rapids Ice Arena begin at 11:00 am with the doors opening up at 9:30 am.

Sophomore Brian Travis (Redington Shores, Fla./Northside Christian) won the Central Region Championship at 141 pounds to earn his place at the championships and the #8 seed. Travis enters the championships with a record of 16-8 and three pins.

Joe Kubica (Lake Park, Ill./Lake Park) and Eric Powell (Bellwood, Ill./Montini Catholic) each earned First Round byes. Kubica finished in third place at 165 lbs. at the Central Region Championships to punch his ticket. Powell has come on strong late this season at 149 lbs. to earn a spot with a third place finish at regionals

Seniors Chris Sokol (Lodi, Wis./Lodi) and Ryan Warczynski (Minooka, Ill./Minooka) will each need to win an extra match after being selected for First Round matches on Friday morning. Warczynski is 28-9 on the year with six pins at 157 lbs. He has won 9 of his last 11 matches and has not been pinned all season. Sokol has won 11 of his last 13 and is 16-8 overall at 133 lbs. Sokol and Warczynski each finished second at the Central Region Championships.

Warczynski is the second Spartan wrestler to qualify for four championships (Josh Terrell did it from 2008-11). Kubica, Powell, Sokol, and Travis are all making their first trip to the NCAA DIII Wrestling Championships.

In 11 seasons as Head Coach Jon McGovern has qualified 20 wrestlers for nationals with nine earning All-American honors and two winning Individual Championships. The top eight finishers in each weight class earns All-American status.

Session II begins with championship quarterfinals and consolation second and third round matches at 6:00 pm Friday. Session III starts at 10:00 am on Saturday morning with championship semifinals and consolation semifinals. Session III finishes up with third place, fifth place, and seventh place matches. The finals are set for 7:00 pm on Saturday.  

2013 NCAA Division III Championships Results for Dubuque
133 - Christopher Sokol (16-9) place is unknown and scored 1.00 team points.
    Prelim - C. Lammer (Elizabethtown) won in sudden victory - 1 over Chris Sokol (Dubuque) (SV-1 5-3)
    Prelim - Christopher Sokol (Dubuque) won in tie breaker - 1 over Jeremy Jones (Ohio Northern) (TB-1 2-1)
    Cons. Round 1 - Christopher Sokol (Dubuque) won by decision over Austin Binish (MSOE) (Dec 3-0)
    Cons. Round 2 - Derek Adams (Springfield) won by decision over Christopher Sokol (Dubuque) (Dec 4-2)

141 - Brian Travis (14-10) place is unknown and scored 1.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Brian Travis (Dubuque) won by decision over Cory Vernon (Centenary (NJ)) (Dec 4-2)
    Quarterfinal - Joseph Grippi (Springfield) won by decision over Brian Travis (Dubuque) (Dec 5-2)
    Cons. Round 2 - N. Behnke (UW-Eau Claire) won by decision over Brian Travis (Dubuque) (Dec 1-0)

149 - Eric Powell (4-5) place is unknown and scored 0.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - Vincent Pisani (York) won by major decision over Eric Powell (Dubuque) (MD 14-3)
    Cons. Round 1 - Mike Polizzi (Stevens Institute) won by decision over Eric Powell (Dubuque) (Dec 7-1)

157 - Ryan Warczynksi (27-10) place is unknown and scored 0.50 team points.
    Prelim - Blake Fisher (SUNY-Oswego) won by decision over Ryan Warczynksi (Dubuque) (Dec 3-1)
    Prelim - Ryan Warczynksi (Dubuque) won by decision over Terner Gott (John Carroll) (Dec 3-2)
    Cons. Round 1 - Fynboh (Concordia-Moor.) won by decision over Ryan Warczynksi (Dubuque) (Dec 5-2)

165 - Joseph Kubica (18-12) place is unknown and scored 0.00 team points.
    Champ. Round 1 - C. Crowell (Roger Williams) won by decision over Joseph Kubica (Dubuque) (Dec 8-6)
    Cons. Round 1 - James Myers (Olivet) won by decision over Joseph Kubica (Dubuque) (Dec 5-1)