Men's Basketball Team Awards Banquet

May 3, 2013 | J.Crane

DUBUQUE, IOWA - The University of Dubuque Men’s Basketball team closed the books on a great season with their team banquet on Sunday April 28th.  The Spartans set a school record with 22 wins and captured its first ever Iowa Conference Tournament Championship.  The senior class finished with 74 wins and never finished lower than third place in the regular season conference standing throughout their careers. 

The Spartans finished first in the Iowa Conference in several statistics including scoring defense (61.2 ppg), scoring margin (+8.7), FG defense (39.5%), turnover margin (+1.86), steals (204), rebounds (1,083), and home attendance (12,880).  Chris Frazier also finished the season 10th in the NCAA in three point field goal percentage at 44.6%. Lucas Ware and Jordan Townsend set a school record by playing in all 29 games this season.

“Our senior leadership and overall improvement on the defensive side of the ball were the two biggest reasons for our success this season,” said Head Coach Robbie Sieverding.  “This is a special group of players and it’s hard to put into words how proud I am of this team and how hard they competed all season.  Our team is excited to keep pushing forward to accomplish bigger goals in the future and they understand that it will take hard work and sacrifice along the way!”

The 2012-13 Spartans will also get a chance to extend their season beyond the normal school year as they will be traveling to Costa Rica for 10 days beginning on May 19th. While in Costa Rica the UD student-athletes will spend time learning about the Costa Rican culture and spending time in classrooms with school aged children. The Spartans will also have the opportunity to play three games while on the trip.

Coach Sieverding added, “Our team is also looking forward to our May trip to Costa Rica which will allow us to practice for ten days and play three games in Costa Rica.  This will be a great experience for everyone involved and a chance for our team to learn about another culture and also learn more about each other in the process.”

All-Iowa Conference
Chris Frazier - 1st Team
Mitch Michaelis - 2nd Team
Andre Norris - 2nd Team 

Academic All-Iowa Conference
Miles Hookstead
Malcolm Stewart

MVP - Chris Frazier
Newcomer Award - Andre Norris
Defensive Award - Miles Hookstead
Most Improved - Lucas Ware
Coaches Award - Miles Hookstead and Jordan Townsend
Spartan Award - Mitch Michaelis
Sixth Man Award - Andre Norris

Junior Varsity
MVP - Sam Baldwin and Mitch Morrisey
Most Improved - Mitch Morrisey
Coaches Award - Mark Preston
Defensive Award - Sam Baldwin

Spartan Academic Achievement Award
Miles Hookstead
Malcolm Stewart
** Senior student-athlete with a 3.0 GPA and contributing member of their team.