Spartans Blank Duhawks for Second Consecutive Year

Nov 9, 2013

DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque Spartan football team kept the key in the 2013 Key City Clash and extended the streak to three consecutive victories. The Spartans have outscored the Duhawks 101-0 the past two seasons (45-0 in 2012 and 56-0 in 2013). The host Spartans converted in all six redzone opportunities in the 56-0 romp on Chalmers Field.

The University of Dubuque and Loras College continued their intense rivalry on the football field on Saturday at the annual Key City Clash. Equally exciting is the fact that the two schools will once again donate to a local non-profit organization. The proceeds from this week’s contest will go to Opening Doors Maria House – Teresa Shelter. The 2013 donation marks the sixth consecutive year the two schools have given back to community.

Opening Doors is a nonprofit organization that operates Maria House and Teresa Shelter. Homeless women, alone or with children, come to them to help rebuild their lives. They provide goal setting and life skills training which enables residents to take care of themselves and achieve their full potential. Women are dependent when they come in…independent when they leave.

The two institutions believe this tradition is one way both schools can give back to the community and model the very best of what it means to be faith-based institutions. Organizations who have received donations from the game are: United Way (2008), Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Eastern Iowa (2009), the Boys and Girls Club of Greater Dubuque (2010), Community Foundation of Greater Dubuque Flood Relief (2011), Riverview Center (2012), and Opening Doors Maria House-Teresa Shelter (2013).

On Senior Day, the Spartans showcased all four senior quarterbacks in the victory. The quartet passed for 394 yards and six touchdowns. Bryan Bradshaw finished with 18-27 passing attempts for 296 yards and six touchdowns. His favorite target was Tyler Rutenbeck who caught eight passes for 134 yards and a school record five touchdowns. Kyle Acker rushed 19 times for 100 yards for an average of 5.3 yards a carry.

UD's defense stepped up and held the Loras Duhawks to just five first downs on the afternoon. Loras threw for 114 yards, but were held to a -11 yards rushing for the day. Darren Myles finished with nine tackles and a 35 yard interception return. Vincent Whipple added eight tackles and Blaine Snitker seven tackles. UD capped off the Iowa Conference tilt with four sacks of the Duhawks.

The Spartans favored possession time in the game 33:25 to the Duhawks 26:35. 

Since Dubuque played a key role in the early development of the state, Dubuque is often referred as "The Key City". The winner of the Key City Clash will proudly display the traveling trophy for the following year at their school. One side of the key is painted blue and white to represent the University of Dubuque while the other is painted in purple and gold for Loras College. The winner of the annual game gains possession of the "Key to the City". The wooden key presented to the winner each year is six feet in length. The Spartans have won the last three meetings, while the Duhawks won the first three match-ups.

2008 -  Loras College won 42-6 at Rock Bowl

2009 – Loras College won 43-14 at Chalmers Field

2010 – Loras College won 14-6 at Rock Bowl

2011 – University of Dubuque won 41-16 at Chalmers Field

2012 – University of Dubuque won 45-0 at Rock Bowl

2013 - University of Dubuque won 56-0 at Chalmers Field


Scoring Summary:

1st 10:03 DBQ  Tyler Rutenbeck 16 yd pass from Bryan Bradshaw (Curtis Prull kick)       6 plays, 69 yards, TOP 2:43 0 - 7  

07:10 DBQ  Lee Jones 3 yd pass from Bryan Bradshaw (Curtis Prull kick)       4 plays, 31 yards, TOP 1:53 0 - 14 

2nd 14:38 DBQ  Tyler Rutenbeck 10 yd pass from Bryan Bradshaw (Curtis Prull kick)       1 play, 10 yards, TOP 0:07 0 - 21  

10:26 DBQ  Tyler Rutenbeck 32 yd pass from Bryan Bradshaw (Curtis Prull kick)       6 plays, 70 yards, TOP 1:52 0 - 28 

 04:06 DBQ  Kyle Acker 2 yd run (Curtis Prull kick)       7 plays, 54 yards, TOP 2:58 0 - 35 

3rd 09:46 DBQ  Tyler Rutenbeck 8 yd pass from Bryan Bradshaw (Curtis Prull kick)       10 plays, 65 yards, TOP 5:14 0 - 42 

4th 12:53 DBQ  Tyler Rutenbeck 43 yd pass from Bryan Bradshaw (Curtis Prull kick)       6 plays, 70 yards, TOP 2:37 0 - 49 

 05:20 DBQ  Chris Sanders 8 yd run (Curtis Prull kick)       12 plays, 70 yards, TOP 5:33 0 - 56 

The Spartans (5-4 overall,4-2 in IIAC) will finish their season at Buena Vista University next Saturday, Nov. 16 at noon in Storm Lake. The Beavers (3-6 overall, 3-3 in IIAC) won at Simpson on a touchdown pass as time expired by a 34-32 final score.