Hanus Named Finalist for Duane Schroeder Iowa Conference Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Dec 19, 2013 | J.Crane

CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWAThe Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) announced today the three male and three female finalists for its 2012-2013 IIAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards. This year's winners will be released on Wednesday, January 15th. 

Receiving finalist nods for this year's Duane Schroeder IIAC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award are former Buena Vista University wrestler Brian Broll, former University of Dubuque football player Wyatt Hanus (Traer, Iowa/North Tama) and former Luther College basketball player Tyler Wedemeier.

The finalists for the newly-christened Johanna Olson IIAC Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award are former University of Dubuque soccer, basketball and track & field athlete Ashley Barwick (Appleton, Wis./Xavier), former Luther College softball player Shari Huber and former Simpson College basketball player Kate Nielsen.

Hanus was a two-time All-Iowa Conference first-team quarterback for the Spartans who earned Offensive MVP honors as a senior in 2012. A three-year starter, he played in 33 games, completing 670 passes for 8,394 yards and 82 touchdowns. In 2011, Hanus led the Spartans to the program's first Iowa Conference title in 31 years, he passed for 3,490 yards and 44 touchdowns. He led Division III in points responsible for (25.27 per game), passing touchdowns (44), ranked second in passing efficiency (189.36) , fourth in passing yards (3,490), fifth in total offense (319 yards per game) and was ninth in passing (317.3 ypg). The following season, Hanus ranked 10th in Division III in completions per game (25.8) and total yards (3,165) as the Spartans again boasted the league's top passing offense. He graduated holding two Iowa Conference records – touchdown passes in a single conference game (7 vs. Buena Vista, Oct. 22, 2011) and touchdown passes in an IIAC season (35).
An accounting and business marketing double major who minored in K-12 coaching, Hanus was a two-time CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-America® (First Team - 2012, Second Team - 2011)  and was an all-district selection in both 2011 and 2012. He was also named to the Hampshire Honor Society by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and was a NFF Campbell Trophy Scholar-Athlete semifinalist (NCAA All-Divisions). He was also one of 10 finalists for the Gagliardi Trophy, which honors the top student-athlete in Division III football, and was an AFCA Allstate Good Works Team nominee. He graduated Magna Cum Laude, making the Dean's List every semester at Dubuque. A football team captain, Hanus was also a campus tutor in accounting and a member of the UD Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

More information on the other finalists is available at: Schroeder Scholar-Athlete Finalists

Duane Schroeder Scholar-Athlete Winners
 2012-13   To be announced January 15th
2011-12  Michael Zweifel, Dubuque
2010-11  Ryan Schisler, Coe
2009-10  Tyler Burkle, Coe
2008-09  Alec Bonander, Luther
2007-08  Kyle Duchman, Wartburg
2006-07  Adam Bohach, Luther
2005-06  Adam Duerfeldt, Central
2004-05  Garrett South, Luther
2003-04  Brent Showalter, Wartburg
2002-03  Jesse Harris, Simpson
2001-02  Dale Biser, Cornell
2000-01  Tim Vinyard, Coe

About the IIAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards
The IIAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were first presented in December 2001 for the 2000-01 academic year. To be eligible for nomination, a student-athlete shall have graduated or exhausted their athletic eligibility during the academic year for which the award is given. The nominee must have demonstrated a high level of accomplishment and achievement in a varsity sport, have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5 (on a 4.0 scale), and show evidence of scholarly achievements, community service involvement and leadership. Both awards were named for former Wartburg and Iowa Conference sports information director Duane Schroeder in May 2002. The women's award was renamed in December 2013 for former Luther College student-athlete Johanna Olson – the inaugural winner of the women's award – who lost a courageous battle with cancer earlier in the year.
About Duane Schroeder
The IIAC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award is named in honor of the late Duane Schroeder, former sports information director at Wartburg College. Schroeder served as Wartburg's SID for 43 years until his retirement in 2000. Upon his retirement from his sports information duties, he was named SID Emeritus and served as Wartburg's News Director until 2001. During much of his four decades at Wartburg, Schroeder served as the IIAC's information director and secretary/treasurer.
About Johanna Olson
The IIAC Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award is named in honor of the late Johanna Olson, a former cross country and track & field student-athlete at Luther College who was the inaugural recipient of the award. Olson battled brain cancer for over 15 years before her fight ended on January 3, 2013 at age 33. She was originally diagnosed with a brain tumor as a college freshman in 1997 but went on to win the 2000 NCAA Division III Cross Country Championship three years to the day after her initial brain surgery. In addition to the national title in cross country, she won three Iowa Conference Individual Championships and three IIAC Most Valuable Runner awards (1999, 2000, 2001). In track and field, she was the 2001 IIAC Most Valuable Performer, earning All-America honors in the 3,000 and 5,000 meter runs. Olson was also a member of the 2001 distance medley relay team that captured the indoor national title. She was named the United States Track Coaches Association (USTCA) regional and national Athlete of the Year in both cross country and track and field in 2000-01. In 1999, Olson was presented the Honda Awards Inspirational Athlete of the Year after returning from radiation treatments to compete at the national level.

Follow all UD Athletics action on Twitter at: @UDubuqueSports