2013 Jon Davison Holiday Tournament

Dec 31, 2013

DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque finished 2013 unblemished on Tuesday night after winning the 2013 Jon Davison Holiday Tournament by capturing the championship game 79-62 over the University of St. Francis. The Spartans improved to 10-0 on the season with the victory. Rockford University edged out Clarke University in the consolation game by a slim 87-82 margin. 

The Consolation final watched Rockford trail at halftime to Clarke by a 39-44 score. After the break the Regents outscored the Crusaders in the final half of action 48-38 to capture the contest 87-82. Rockford led by 15 points with less than six minutes to play, but the Clarke Crusaders battled back on strong outside shooting and sliced the lead to just three points with 1:07 left of the game. Clarke was left to foul, but the Regents made five out their last six free throw attempts to extend the lead to five points as time expired.

The host Spartans led by as many as 24 points in the championship game over the University of Saint Francis. Andre Norris led the Spartans with 18 points and eight rebounds. Chris Frazier and Gage Heffernan both finished with 16 points and Mitch Michaelis added 13 points. UD out rebounded Saint Francis 41-30, but it was USF's bench who out scored the Spartans bench 27-12. UD improved to a perfect 10-0 and will enter 2014 as the lone Iowa Conference team to remain unbelmished in non-league action. The Spartans will continue play on Friday, Jan. 3 when they host Bethany Lutheran College at 7:00 p.m. UD will kick-off Iowa Conference action at home on Jan. 8 Vs. Wartburg College Knights, a reunion of last year's IIAC Tournament Championship, which the Spartans won in a snow delayed championship on Sunday, Feb. 24 by a score of 73-60.


Game #1 Clarke Univ. -81, Univ. of St. Francis-93 BOX SCORE

Game #2 UD -89, Rockford College - 81 BOX SCORE

Game #3 Clarke Univ. -82, Rockford Univ. -87 BOX SCORE

Game #4 UD -79, Univ. of St. Francis - 62 BOX SCORE


All Tournament Team:

1. Tre Wagner, Clarke

2. David Dixon, Rockford

3. Jo Jo Ballestero, USF

4. Matt Sherrif, USF

5. Chris Frazier, UD

MVP - Gage Heffernan, UD - MVP


Jon Davison Holiday Tournament Schedule

Game 1 Clarke  81     Game 3 Clarke  82 
  12/30/13   vs.             12/31/13   vs.   
5:00 pm  St. Francis  93   2:00 pm Rockford 87
Game 2 Dubuque 89   Game 4   St. Francis   62
12/30/13 vs.      12/31/13 vs.   
7:00 pm Rockford 81   4:00 pm Dubuque  79