Shaffer Honored As Jerry Petitgoue Coaches Award Honoree

Jan 3, 2014

Dubuque, Iowa – The University of Dubuque recently honored the 2013-14 recipient of the Jerry Petitgoue Coaches Award to Clay Shaffer. This annual award was recently named in honor of Wisconsin Hall of Fame coach Jerry Petitgoue, long-time boys basketball coach at Cuba City, Wis. Petitgoue is the winningest coach in the state of Wisconsin history with 846 wins. In 45 years of coaching he has 29 conference championships at Cuba City and 3 State Championships at Cuba City (1981, 1991, and 1998). Cuba City was the state runner-up in 2012.

Petitgoue was a 1963 graduate of the University of Dubuque and this special award was established in his honor to an alumnus coach who best represents Petitgoue’s tenacity, strong work ethic, and care for athletes of any age, at any level.

Clay Shaffer (C ‘73) earlier this year was inducted into the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Hall of Fame after 32 years of coaching. Most of those years were spent coaching Platteville Hillmen’s girls basketball team, including it’s only high school Championship. 

“This is a tremendous honor and I’m humbled to be the 2013-14 recipient,” commented Clay Shaffer. “Jerry has been influential in my life and to receive an award, which is named after him is as humbling as you can imagine.”

Shaffer credits his coach at UD, Mr. Jon Davison for teaching him the little things, which make up a good coach. He stated, “Coach Davison was very influential to me, they don’t get any better than Jon. To have been presented this award by Jerry and Jon means a lot to me.”

Clay accepted the Jerry Petitgoue Coaches Award at the 2013 Jon Davison Holiday Men’s Basketball Tournament hosted by the University of Dubuque on Jon Davison Court in Stoltz Sports Center.

Recipients of the University of Dubuque Jerry Petitgoue Award:

2012 - Paul Rundquist (C ’96)

2013 – Clay Shaffer (C’ 73)

# # #