2014 Athletics Awards Banquet

May 6, 2014 | J.Crane

2014 Spartan Academic Achievement Award winners


DUBUQUE, IOWA - The University of Dubuque Athletic Department celebrated the 2013-14 Senior Student-Athletes on Monday, May 5th with its Senior Awards Banquet. Top awards handed out were Spartan Academic Achievement Award, Spartan Academic Student-Athlete Excellence Award, Student-Athlete of the Year, and Wendt Character Student-Athlete Award. Academic All-American and Athletic All-American were also recognized. A total of 59 seniors were honored during the ceremony.

Senior Student-Athlete of the Year winners were Chris Frazier (Men's Basketball) and Alexandra Watkins (Women's Soccer).

Caitlin Aulwes (Softball), Megan Strawn (Women's Soccer), and Doug Lillibridge (Football) were honored as Spartan Academic Student-Athlete Excellence Award winners.

Spartan Academic Achievement Award

This award goes to seniors who truly define the term Student-Athlete
The recipient must carry a 3.0 GPA and be a contributing member of their sport.
Name Sport Major
Christian Armas Men's Golf Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Caitlin Aulwes Softball Wellness & Exercise Science
Alex Beck Men's Golf Marketing
Bryan Bradshaw Football Secondary Education - Math
Tyson Carter Football Biology
Erik Cewe Men's Basketball Elementary Education
Heather Chapman Women's Basketball Biology
Caitlin Crane Women's Soccer Business
Nicole Culpepper Women's Golf Elementary Education
Dishon Deering Men's Tennis Criminal Justice
Noah Evans Football Business Admin.
Jennifer Fischer Women's Basketball Nursing
Abraham Gonzalez Men's Soccer Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Brock Haas Football Secondary Education - Science
Austin Hatzinger Football Business Admin.
Austin Hughes Football Business
Aoi Karino Women's Tennis Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Joseph Kilsdonk Baseball Criminal Justice
Logan Kunzie Football Elementary Education
Matthew Levin Football Criminal Justice
Doug Lillibridge Football Business Admin. & Accounting
Bobbie Sue Lopez Women's Golf Criminal Justice
Ryan Mattingly Men's Track & Field Flight and Aviation Management
Manny Mendoza Wrestling Business Admin.
Amber Meyer Softball Physical Education
Mitch Michaelis Men's Basketball Wellness & Exercise Science
Derek Mizaur Wrestling Business Admin. & Sports Marketing    
Jake O'Rourke Men's Soccer Environmental Science
Vince Parisi Baseball Wellness & Exercise Science
Mark Preston Men's Basketball Marketing
Stephany Remakel   Women's Basketball        Biology
Lionel Salazar Men's Soccer Business Admin.
Benjamin Schneider        Wrestling Secondary Education - Math
Caleb Vogel Football Religion
Alexandra Watkins Women's Soccer Communication
Morgan Werkheiser Volleyball Sociology & Criminal Justice
Evan Zurbuchen Men's Track & Field Aviation

                 Spartan Academic Student-Athlete Excellence Award                 

This award is given to the Senior Female and Male
letter winner with the higest cumulative GPA

Caitlin Aulwes - Softball
Megan Strawn - Women's Soccer
Doug Lillibridge - Football



Student-Athlete of the Year

This award goes to the most outstanding senior female and male
student-athlete based on their accomplishments on the field of play.

Alexandra Watkins - Women's Soccer
Chris Frazier - Men's Basketball



          Wendt Character Athlete Award          

   This award is given to the team player who best exemplifies commitment to a life of purpose   
and excellent moral character, as well as good sportsmanship and virtues such as 
truthfulness, honesty, fairness, and the Golden Rule. 
Baseball - Joey Kilsdonk
Men's Basketball - Mark Preston
Women's Basketball - Jennifer Fischer
Cheer and Stunt - Morgan Fitzsimmons
Men's Cross Country - Payton Nevills
Women's Cross Country - Samantha Holen
Football - Doug Lillibridge
Men's Golf - Mitch Sobotta               
Women's Golf - Emily Harding
Men's Lacrosse - Joshua Berey-Wingate
Women's Lacrosse - Robyn Wittkopf
Men's Soccer - Abraham Gonzalez
Women's Soccer - Melanie Prudhomme
Softball - Caitlin Aulwes
Men's Indoor Track & Field - Evan Zurbuchen
Women's Indoor Track & Field - Sade Pointer
Men's Outdoor Track & Field - Zach Ahrens
Women's Outdoor Track & Field - Rachael Busjahn
Men's Tennis - Dishon Deering
Women's Tennis - Ashley Schlueter
Volleyball - Anna Runge
Wrestling - Derek Mizaur


Capital One/CoSIDA Academic      Athletic
Tyson Carter -  1st Team   Tyler Rutenbeck   1st Team AP "Little" (D-II/D-III/NAIA)
Doug Lillibridge - 2nd Team       Tyler Rutenbeck 1st Team AFCA Division-III
NWCA   Tyler Rutenbeck 1st Team Beyond Sports Network
Manny Mendoza   Tyler Rutenbeck  3rd Team D3football.com
Derek Mizaur    Rick Valcin 2nd Place - Indoor Track,  Pole Vault
Nicholas Rivera    Nick Drendel 8th Place - Wrestling, 149 lbs.