Spartans Place 13 on MWLC All-Academic Team

Jun 17, 2014 | J.Crane

MWLC All-Academic


WAUKESHA, WISCONSIN - A total of 89 Student-Athletes were named to the 2014 Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference (MWLC) All-Academic Team. The University of Dubuque and Augustana College tied with a league best 13 recipients. To be named to the MWLC All-Academic Team, the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 and be a member of the varsity team.

The 2014 Spartans finished the season with a 4-11 overall record and 2-8 record in the MWLC. The highlight of the season came when UD put together a four game winning streak with victories at Fontbonne (18-11), vs. University of Dallas (13-8), vs. Benedictine (11-6), and at Illinois Tech (20-5). All-Academic selection Bridget Schirmers led the Spartans in scoring with a school record 48 goals. Judy Borah had a team high 10 assists. Ashley Geraghty was named to the MWLC All-Sportsmanship Team.

Beginning in the spring of 2015, UD will compete in the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin (CCIW). Current MWLC members Augustana, Carthage, and North Central will be joining the Spartans in the move to the new created Women's Lacrosse Conference. Rounding out the six team league are first year programs Elmhurst and Illinois Wesleyan. Carroll University is scheduled to join the CCIW in 2016.

University of Dubuque Women's Lacrosse - 13

Name   Year   Hometown/High School Major (s)
Cassandra Berger    Jr. Waukon, Iowa/Waukon Accounting
Brooke Crossen Fr. Madison, Wis./Oregon Wellness & Exercise Science  
Alora Esparza Fr. Silvis, Ill./United Township Nursing
Ashley Geraghty So. Palatine, Ill./Palatine Accounting/Business
Chelsea Hawkins Jr. Maryland Heights, Mo./Pattonville Criminal Justice
Ashlyn Ptasienski Fr. Stillman Valley, Ill./Stillman Valley Nursing
Itzel Rivera Fr. Fort Knox, Ky./Fort Knox Wellness & Exercise Science
Lisa Rosas So. Arcadia, Wis./Arcadia Business
Bridget Schirmers So. Coon Rapids, Minn./Coon Rapids Wellness & Exercise Science
Jessi Tapia Fr. Hampton, Ill./United Township Psychology
Kelly Wetherald So. Homer Glen, Ill./Lockport Township    Nursing/Psychology
Robyn Wittkopf Fr. Pewaukee, Wis./Arrowhead Nursing
Anna Yackshaw Fr. Clinton, Iowa/Prince of Peace Flight Operations
The complete list of all 89 winners can be found at: MWLC All-Academic


Stay up-to-date with all UD Athletics on Twitter at: @UDubuqueSports