Dobratz Named Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Candidate

Jul 15, 2014


NORTHBROOK, Ill., July 15, 2014 – For 23 years the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has served as one of the most coveted and prestigious off-the-field honors in college football. The award recognizes players whose charitable involvement and community service contributions stand out among all other student-athletes participating in the sport. Today, Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) announced a record-breaking 182 nominees from across the country who represent the sport’s finest in the areas of volunteerism and leadership among their peers. University of Dubuque's Tyler Dobratz (Sr., TE, Edgerton, Wis./Edgerton HS) has been named among the 182 nominees seeking to be a finalist for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® in 2014. He is one of just three candidates submitted among the eight Iowa Conference schools.
Since its establishment in 1992, the award has existed to pay tribute to the "good" in college football that extends beyond the wins and the losses. While balancing academics and athletics, this select group of student-athletes nominated by their respective colleges and universities has committed their limited free time to having a lasting impact on their communities.
“Year after year, the ‘good works’ associated with this impressive group of student-athletes continue to inspire and raise the bar for future nominees,” said Jim Haskins, president of Allstate’s West Territory and a member of the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel. “Allstate is proud to be a part of an award that recognizes the importance of giving back to the communities where we live, work and cheer on game day.”
While heroes emerge on the gridiron each Saturday, this year’s nominees’ heroics extend beyond touchdowns and tackles. From establishing an epilepsy awareness campaign that has touched the lives of more than 100,000 families to founding a book club program to provide at-risk youth with safe and structured after-school activities, the impressive service resumes of these remarkable student-athletes has earned them recognition on a national level.
"It’s great to see all the ‘good works’ these student-athletes are doing at their universities and in their communities," Grant Teaff, AFCA executive director said. "The AFCA is proud to work with Allstate in highlighting the record number of nominees sent in for the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®." 
Comprised of 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA, the final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September. From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select the 2014 Good Works Team.® 
The 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes: former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Lou Holtz (ESPN), Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Bruce Feldman (Fox Sports),  Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA President and Ithaca College head coach Mike Welch; 1987 AFCA President and former head coach at Brigham Young University LaVell Edwards; and Jim Haskins, president of Allstate’s West Territory.
Once the final team members are announced in September, fans are encouraged to visit the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® website on, featuring profiles and images of the players, for the opportunity to vote for the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain.
In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining a strong academic standing.
Combined Divisions (FCS, II, III & NAIA)
Alma College – Blake Padget
Amherst College – Chris Tamasi
Angelo State University – Kyle Washington
Bentley University – Danny Guadagnoli
Bethel University – Joshua Perkins
Bucknell University – Josh Brake
Carson-Newman College – William Alderman
Central Methodist University – Kaleb Borghardt
Chadron State College – Sam Parker
Charleston Southern University – Christian Reyes
Clarion University of Pennsylvania – Matthew Shuey
College of the Holy Cross – Tyler Zeoli
Concordia College – Domenic Fraboni
Cumberland University – Reed Gurchiek
Dakota State University – Bobby Tisch
Davidson College – Dan Casey
Drake University – John Hugunin
East Stroudsburg University – Bryan Thomson
East Texas Baptist University – Jake McClain
Eastern Kentucky University – Jared McClain
Eastern New Mexico University – Jeremy Buurma
Elon University – Alexander Dawson
Ferris State University – Jason Vander Laan
Florida Institute of Technology – Manny Abad
Fordham University – Ian Williams
Franklin & Marshall College – Nick Porcelli
Hampton University – Twarn Mixson
Heidelberg College – Austin Hunter
Howard University – Greg McGhee
Illinois State University – Mike Banks
Indiana State University – Mark Sewall
Jacksonville State University – Dalton Screws
John Carroll University – Jack Corrigan
Johns Hopkins University – Michael Longo
Johnson C. Smith University – LeAnder Barney
Juniata College – Ward Udinski
Kansas Wesleyan University – Taylor Sachs
Lake Forest College – Joey Kropp
Lamar University – Logan Moss
Liberty University – Jonathan Burgess
Loras College – Tucker Brady
MacMurray College – Zach Mudd
Marian University – Tevin Lake
Marist College – James Holodnak
Mercer University – John Russ
Millersville University – Trenton Petrovich
Missouri Southern State University – Ryon Phillips
Missouri State University – Caleb Schaffitzel
Nebraska Wesleyan University – Connor Zumpfe
North Central College – Peter Sorenson
Northern Arizona University – Austin Hasquet
Northwestern College – Ben Green
Notre Dame College – Ray Russ
Ouachita Baptist University – Spencer Knight
Ohio Dominican University – Mark Miller
Ohio Wesleyan University – Kevin Herman
Pacific Lutheran University – Greg Hibbard
Princeton University – Mike Ramos
Rowan University – Chris Alvarez
Saint Augustine’s University – Dominque Marsh
Saint Francis University – Matt Camilletti
Saint John’s University – Alex Jarosz
Shippensburg University – Timothy Latham
South Dakota State University – Zach Zenner
Stonehill College – Brian Harrington
SUNY Maritime – Greg Caneparo
Tarleton State University – Patrick Bettiol
Texas Lutheran University – Bryan Doolittle
Trinity University – Matthew Kennemer
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga – Jacob Huesman
University of Arkansas at Monticello – Jalen Garmon
University of Chicago – Vincent Beltrano
University of Dubuque – Tyler Dobratz
University of Minnesota Duluth – Jacob Brusehaver
University of Montana – Derek Crittenden
University of Mount Union – Kevin Burke
University of New Hampshire – Tim Johnson
University of North Carolina at Charlotte – Matt Johnson
University of Northern Iowa – David Johnson
University of Puget Sound – Max Mirande
University of Richmond – Austin Gund
University of Sioux Falls – Michael Tolkamp
University of South Dakota – Keyen Lage
University of St. Thomas – Matt O’Connell
University of the Incarnate Word – Padyn Giebler
Wagner College – Phil Faccone
Wartburg College – Drew Kooi
Wayne State University – Thom Box
Waynesburg University – John Sikora
Wingate University – Eric Mapoles
Winona State University – Ryan Gerts
Yale University – William Chism