Women’s Golf Team 7th After Opening Weekend of IIAC Championships

Sep 27, 2014

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – After the first weekend of the Iowa Conference Championships, hosted by the University of Dubuque, the Spartan women’s golf team sits in seventh place with a score of 728. UD is just eight strokes out of fifth place heading into the final weekend at the Dubuque Golf and Country Club in Dubuque. Wartburg College increased their lead over Central College on the second day of the 2014 IIAC Championhsips after shooting a blistering 302 on Saturday.

The Spartans (374-354-728) are led by Lauren Smith (89-82-171), Carlee Grunder (86-88-174), Amanda Harrop (90-85-175), and Abigail Perry (109-99-208). Smith is tied for 15th overall, the Top-10 after four rounds of the tournament are named All-Iowa Conference.

Wartburg posted five sub-80 scores Saturday, extending its lead to 37 strokes after 36 holes at the 2014 Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) Women's Golf Championship at Pheasant Ridge Golf Course.

36-Hole Results:  Leaderboard  |  Team-by-Team

The Knights finished Saturday's second round with a 302 for a 611 36-hole total to set the championship 18-hole and opening 36-hole records. Central shaved 10 strokes off its Friday total with a 319 and sits second overall at 648. After entering the day tied with Loras, Luther posted a 340 total compared to the Duhawks' 344 and holds down third place by that four stroke margin. Coe (716) is fifth, just ahead of Simpson (722) and Dubuque (728). Buena Vista improved by 30 strokes from round one to round two and is eighth at 794.

Central had previously held the top 18-hole round with a 305 total during round two of the 2009 championship. Wartburg bettered its own mark for the low midway score of the championship. The previous mark was 619 (307-312) by the 2012 Knights.

Wartburg holds down five of the top six positions in the medalist race, led by senior Morgan McMillan. After shooting even-par 36 on the front nine, McMillan posted two birdies and a bogey to finish at 1-under-par 71. Her 71 tied the championship 18-hole individual record set by Central's Sarah Paulson during the second round of the 2008 Championship, also at Pheasant Ridge. Paired with her first-round 79, McMillan sits atop the medalist standings with a 150 total.

Day one leader Rochelle Beardsley, also of Wartburg, fired a second-round 77 and is one stroke back at 151. Tied with Beardsley is Central's Kelsey Van Tasell, who had a birdie and a bogey on both the front and back nine and fired an even-par 72.

Wartburg's Hannah Long (78-76--154), Taylor Roberts (78-78--157) and Samantha Heinen (82-78--160) sit 4-5-6, followed by Central's Rachel Cassens (83-82--165). Cassens' Dutch teammates Christine Ausman (82-84--166) and Chelsey Shuey (85-81--166) are tied for eighth with Loras's Mara Simonson (83-83--166). Shuey's second-round 81 included an eagle on the par-5 17th hole.

Focus now shifts to Dubuque where the final 36 holes of the championship will be constested October 3-4 at Dubuque Golf and Country Club. The University of Dubuque is the host institution for this year's championship. Teams are slated to tee off at 10 a.m. on Friday and 9 a.m. on Saturday. Dubuque and Buena Vista will tee off in the first wave Friday, followed by Loras, Coe and Simpson in the second wave. Wartburg, Central and Luther will make up the third and final wave.

The 2014 IIAC Champion will also receive the conference's automatic berth into the 2015 NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championship to be held in May at the Mission Inn Golf Resort in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.

At Cedar Falls
(Pheasant Ridge G.C., par 72)

Teams - 1. Wartburg, 309-302--611; 2. Central 329-319--648; 3. Luther, 343-340--683; 4. Loras, 343-344--687; 5. Coe 363-363--716; 6. Simpson 364-358--722; 7. Dubuque 374-354--728; 8. Buena Vista, 412-382--794.

Top 5 individuals -- 1. Morgan McMillan (WAR), 150; 2. (tie) Rochelle Beardsley (WAR) and Kelsey Van Tasell (CEN), 151; 4. Hannah Long (WAR), 154; 5. Taylor Roberts (WAR), 156.

Wartburg (611): 1. McMillan, 79-71--150; t2. Beardsley, 74-77--151; 4. Long, 78-76--154; 5. Roberts, 78-78--156; 6. Samantha Heinen, 82-78--160.
Central (648): t2. Van tasell, 79-72--151; 7. Rachel Cassens, 83-82--165; t8. Christine Ausman, 82-84--166; t8. Chelsey Shuey, 85-81--166; 27. Cierra Pulse, 88-91--179.
Luther (683): 12. Madeline Petellin, 84-85--169; t13. Lexi Graf, 86-84--170; t15. Hannah Hagarty, 85-86--171; t17. Sam Kraft, 88-85--173; t25. Kate Coyle, 91-87--178.
Loras (687): t8. Mara Simonson, 83-83--166; 11. Lauren Gonner, 88-80--168; t21. Dana Matykiewicz, 84-90--174; 29. Katie Lathrum, 91-91--182; t31. Emma Walsh, 88-96--184.
Coe (716): t17. Jessica Franson, 88-85--173; 20. Erin Lang, 89-81--170; 24. Jade Hess, 88-88--176; 33. Chloe Crain, 98-99--197; 34. Tarissa Hagenow, 100-99--199.
Simpson (722): t21. Lesley Pearey, 87-87--174; 28. Allison McArtor, 93-88--181; 30. Coltyn Hunter, 94-89--183; t31. Holly Baiotto, 90-94--184; 35. Courtney Mabeus, 106-98--204.
Dubuque (728): t15. Lauren Smith, 89-82--171; 19. Carlee Grunder, 86-88--174; 23. Amanda Harrop, 90-85--175; 36. Abigail Perry, 109-99--208.
Buena Vista (794): t13. Jasey Zander, 85-85--170; t25. Elizabeth Kim, 92-86--178; 37. Courtney Van Haaften, 118-100--218; 38. Alison Wedemeyer, 117-111--228.