Martinez and Schlueter Win IIAC Flight B Doubles

Oct 4, 2014


PELLA, Iowa --- Champions were crowned in five flights as the 2014 Iowa Conference Women's Tennis Individual Tournament concluded Saturday at the Kuyper Athletic Complex.

Coe freshman Haley Resnick, the No. 2 seed, won the Flight A singles title with a 6-3, 1-6, 1-0 (10) win over top-seeded UD's Arantxa Martinez. Resnick advanced with a 6-3, 6-0 win over teammate Jordan Ferree, while Martinez topped Coe's Amy Sebastian, 6-3, 6-2, in the other semifinal.
Unseeded Hailey Johnson posted wins over Wartburg's Marissa Buresh (6-4, 6-0) and Simpson's Kelli Ehrhardt (6-3, 6-1) en route to the Flight B title. Ehrhardt advanced with a 6-4, 7-6 (6) win over Wartburg's Liz Rucker. Buresh beat Rucker 9-8 (3) for third.
UD's Stephanie LoCasto defeated Buena Vista's Tarynne Kinghorn, 6-4, 6-2, in the semis and Loras' Ayla Graziano, 6-4, 6-3, in the final to win Flight C. Graziano advanced with a 6-1, 6-1 win over Wartburg's Leah Jungling. Kinghorn beat Jungling, 6-3, 6-4, for third.
Laura Birky and Jordan Ferree topped teammates Sarah Lasecki and Haley Resnick, 8-5, in an all-Coe final in Flight A doubles. Birky and Ferree, the No. 1 seeds, topped fourth-seeded Angie Allgood and Megan Davis, 8-4, in the semis, while Lasecki and Resnick advanced with an 8-6 win over Wartburg's Kayla Kuethe and Melissa Davis. The Central tandem topped the Wartburg duo, 8-5, for third place.
Flight B doubles champions Arantxa Martinez and Ashley Schlueter needed three wins Saturday to capture their crown, topping Luther's Molly Brown and Madisen Crow, 8-3, in the final. Luther's Claire Christian and Anna Pearson took third after an 8-1 win over Wartburg's Liz Rucker and Emma Friedly.
This weekend's tournament concludes the fall competition season for Iowa Conference schools. The all-conference team, most valuable player and coach of the year will be voted upon by the coaches next week.
Iowa Conference Individual Tournament
At Pella, Iowa
(Kuyper Athletic Complex)
Flight A Singles
Arantxa Martinez (1), Dubuque, def. Amy Sebastian (6), Coe, 6-3, 6-2
Haley Resnick (2), Coe, def. Jordan Ferree, Coe, 6-3, 6-0
Third Place
Sebastian def. Ferree, 6-1, 6-1.
Resnick def. Martinez, 6-3, 1-6, 1-0 (10)
Flight B Singles
Kelli Ehrhardt (5), Simpson, def. Liz Rucker (1), Wartburg, 6-4, 7-6 (6).
Hailey Johnson, Luther, def. Marissa Buresh (2), Wartburg, 6-4, 6-0
Third Place
Buresh def. Rucker, 9-8 (3)
Johnson def. Ehrhardt, 6-3, 6-1
Flight C Singles
Ayla Graziano, Loras, def. Leah Jungling, Wartburg, 6-1, 6-1
Stephanie LoCasto, Dubuque, def. Tarynne Kinghorn, Buena Vista, 6-4, 6-2
Third Place
Kinghorn def. Jungling, 6-3, 6-4
LoCasto def. Graziano, 6-4, 6-3
Flight A Doubles
Laura Birky/Jordan Ferree (1), Coe, def. Angie Allgood/Megan Davis (4), Central, 8-4
Sarah Lasecki/Haley Resnick, Coe, def. Kayla Kuethe/Melissa Davis (2), Wartburg, 8-6
Third Place
Allgood/Davis def. Kuethe/Davis, 8-5
Birky/Ferree def. Lasecki/Resnick, 8-5
Flight B Doubles
Arantxa Martinez/Ashley Schlueter (1), Dubuque, def. Katie Todd/Kari Grindberg, Central, 8-6
Liz Rucker/Emma Friedly (4), Wartburg, def. Michelle Hartmann/Kelli Greiner (5), Simpson, 9-8 (6)
Claire Christian/Anna Pearson, Luther, def. Kassidy Ipsen/Tarynne Kinghorn (3), Buena Vista, 8-5
Molly Brown/Madisen Crow (2), Luther, def. Ashley Maley/Sarah Montgomery, Central, 8-4
Martinez/Schlueter def. Rucker/Friedly, 8-3
Brown/Crow def. Christian/Pearson, 8-4
Third Place
Christian/Pearson def. Rucker/Friedly, 8-1
Martinez/Schlueter def. Brown/Crow, 8-3