IIAC Releases Football All-Iowa Conference Awards

Nov 21, 2014

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - The IIAC announced today the 2014 All-Conference Football Team. The 56-member Team (there were two ties on the second team) includes 20 repeat All-Conference honorees. The Spartans earned eight All-Iowa Conference selections.

First team members included Tyler Rutenbeck (Sr., WR, Maquoketa, Iowa/Maquoketa HS), Oscar White (Jr. DB, River Falls, Wis./River Falls HS), and Blaine Snitker (Jr. LB, Waukon, Iowa/Waukon HS). Student-athletes earning All-Iowa Conference Second Team: Zach Marotta (Jr., DL, Wayne, Ill./South Elgin HS), Trevor Stauner (Jr., LB, South Milwaukee, Wis./South Milwaukee HS), Chris Bagley (Jr., WR, Oswego, Ill./Oswego), and Dominique Ravenell (Sr., OL, Fort Worth, Texas/RL Raschel HS). Three individuals named as Honorable Mention All-iowa Conferece were: Dylan Ramsey (Sr., DB, Urbana, Iowa/Center Point-Urbana HS), Tanner Bronkema (Jr., OL, Forreston, Ill./Forreston HS), and Mike Murphy (Sr., OL, Spring Green, Wis./River valley HS).

The Spartans finished fifth in the Iowa Conference with a 3-4 record and a 4-6 overall mark. UD's defense ranks nationally in the NCAA Division III National Statistics by being ranked 26th in 4th down conversion defense, 31st in passes intercepted, 25th in punt return defense, and 35th in red zone defense. The offensive line played well for the Spartans by being ranked 18th in tackles for losses allowed and 19th in sacks allowed. 

Individual rankings list Curtis Prull being tied for 1st in field goals percentage with 100% after never missing a field goal try in nine attempts. He was successful from 22, 33, 22, 37, 34, 22, 31, 32, and 33 yards. Prull ranks 26th in the NCAA National Statistics in field goals per game. Stauner ranks 7th in total tackles this season 123, an avaerage of 12.3 a game. Nationally White ranks 8th in passes defended 1.8 a game. Tyler Rutenbeck ranks 27th in in receiving touchdowns after scoring 11 in 2014. His longest reception of the season was a 64 yard completion against Pacific University (Ore.) on Sept. 20. He also ranks 39th in receptions per game with 6.6 and 91.8 yards a game. The NCAA Division III playoffs are still continuing so final rankings will not be finalized until after the championship game in late December.


2014 All-Iowa Conference Football

Offensive MVP - Logan Schrader, Sr., QB, Wartburg

Defensive MVP - Spencer Capitani, Sr., DB, Wartburg

Coach of the Year - Rick Willis, Wartburg


First Team - Offense School Year Pos. Hometown/High School

Bobby Brown Buena Vista Sr. QB Storm Lake, Iowa / Storm Lake

Logan Schrader Wartburg Jr. QB Kildeer, Ill. / Dunlap

Dylan Barrett Buena Vista Sr. RB Harlan, Iowa / Harlan

Josh Osborn Central Sr. RB Burlington, Iowa / Burlington

Gunner Gilland Buena Vista Sr. WR Shelby, Iowa / AHST

Tyler Rutenbeck Dubuque Sr. WR Maquoketa, Iowa / Maquoketa

Taylor Jacobsmeier Wartburg Sr. WR Wapello, Iowa / Wapello

Chris Brinkmeier Wartburg Sr. OL Orangeville, Ill. / Orangeville

Casey Krull Wartburg Sr. OL Allison, Iowa / North Butler

Travis Munn Buena Vista Jr. OL Sioux City, Iowa / East

Corey Meyer Simpson Jr. OL Iowa City, Iowa / West

Chase Wilhelms Wartburg Jr. OL Shannon, Ill. / Eastland


First Team - Defense School Year Pos. Hometown/High School

Jacob Edleman Central Sr. DB Mechanicsville, Iowa / North Cedar

Spencer Capitani Wartburg Sr. DB Northwood, Iowa / Northwood-Kensett

Oscar White Dubuque Jr. DB River Falls, Wis. / River Falls

Logan Pitz Wartburg Jr. DB Farley, Iowa / Western Dubuque

Miguel Lozan Wartburg Sr. DL Peoria, Ill. / Richwoods

Matt Schmitz Coe Sr. DL Jesup, Iowa / Union Community

Cole Hinders Wartburg Jr. DL Dysart, Iowa / Union Community

Will Tumberger Loras Sr. DL Mount Prospect, Ill. / St. Viator

Will Janssen Wartburg Jr. LB Mediapolis, Iowa / Mediapolis

Drew Kooi Wartburg Sr. LB Minooka, Ill. / Minooka

Blaine Snitker Dubuque Jr. LB Waukon, Iowa / Waukon

Brandon Abernathy Simpson Sr. LB Indianola, Iowa / Indianola


First Team - Specialists School Year Pos. Hometown/High School

Kevin Sheldon Central Sr. PK West Des Moines, Iowa / Valley

Grant Zimmerman Wartburg Jr. P Mendota, Ill. / Mendota

Donald Miller Wartburg Sr. RS Maywood, Ill. / Romeoville


Second Team - Offense School Year Pos. Hometown/High School

JJ Sirios Luther Sr. QB Keenesburg, Colo. / Weld Central

Josh Vos Luther Sr. RB Morrison, Ill. / Morrison

Brandon Domeyer Wartburg So. RB Manchester, Iowa / West Delaware

Adam Cave Buena Vista Sr. WR Harlan, Iowa / Harlan

Chris Bagley Dubuque Jr. WR Oswego, Ill. / Oswego

Nate Even Loras Sr. WR Cedar Rapids, Iowa / Xavier

Robbie Anstoetter Wartburg Jr. WR Farley, Iowa / Dyersville Beckman

Ryan Collins Central Sr. OL Mesa, Ariz. / Red Mountain

Dominique Ravenell Dubuque Sr. OL Fort Worth, Texas / RL Raschal

James Ostlie Luther So. OL Decorah, Iowa / Decorah

Blake Bergstrom Simpson Jr. OL Ankeny, Iowa / Ankeny

Bjorn Nelson Wartburg Sr. OL Maplewood, Minn. / North St. Paul


Second Team - Defense School Year Pos. Hometown/High School

Eric Larson Central Sr. DB Waverly, Iowa / Waverly-Shell Rock

Jacob Tune Central Sr. DB Mesa, Ariz. / Red Mountain

Dylan Stepleton Coe Sr. DB Tipton, Iowa / Wilton

Skylar Dierikx Wartburg Sr. DB Durant, Iowa / Durant

Nick Henry Central Sr. DL Solon, Iowa / Solon

Brody Janssen Central Sr. DL Quincy, Ill. / Quincy

Zack Marotta Dubuque Jr. DL Wayne, Ill. / South Elgin

Alex Severn Simpson Sr. DL Council Bluffs, Iowa / Treynor

Zach Twedt Wartburg Sr. DL Atkins, Iowa / Benton Community

Drew Carlson Central So. LB Ankeny, Iowa / Ankeny

Mitch Berendes Coe Sr. LB Dubuque, Iowa / Hempstead

Trevor Stauner Dubuque Jr. LB South Milwaukee, Wis. / South Milwaukee

Aric Elton Luther Jr. LB Spring Grove, Minn. / Spring Grove

Gunner Tranel Wartburg Jr. LB Vinton, Iowa / Vinton-Shellsburg


Second Team - Specialists School Year Pos. Hometown/High School

Curtis Prull Dubuque Jr. PK Monticello, Iowa / Monticello

Tyler Stolen Buena Vista So. P Sioux City, Iowa / Heelan

Jordan Beem Simpson So. RS Altoona, Iowa / Southeast Polk


Honorable Mention School Year Pos. Hometown/High School

Ben Seitz Buena Vista Jr. WR Mokane, Mo. / South Callaway R-II

Tyler Stolen Buena Vista So. PK Sioux City, Iowa / Heelan

Aaron Eiseler Central Sr. QB Mesa, Ariz. / Red Mountain

Sam Markham Central So. WR Atlantic, Iowa / Atlantic

Brendon Boerm Central Sr. WR Traer, Iowa / North Tama

Garrett Young Central Sr. OL Muscatine, Iowa / Muscatine

Jordan Youngman Central Sr. OL Pella, Iowa / Pella

Dylan Ramsey Dubuque Sr. DB Urbana, Iowa / Center Point-Urbana

Tanner Bronkema Dubuque Jr. OL Forreston, Ill. / Forreston

Mike Murphy Dubuque Sr. OL Spring Green, Wis. / River Valley

Mike Canevello Loras Sr. DB McHenry, Ill. / McHenry

Maurice Young Loras Fr. DB North Chicago, Ill. / Zion-Benton Township

Calvin Harridge Loras So. LB Morrison, Ill. / Morrison

Luke Pulliam Luther Fr. DB Tracy, Calif. / Tracy

Sean Guerra Luther Jr. DL Parker, Colo. / Ponderosa

Matt Larson Luther Sr. LB Eagan, Minn. / Eastview

Tyler Moon Luther Jr. OL Sauk Rapids, Minn. / Sauk Rapids-Rice

Logan Klein Simpson Sr. P Sigourney, Iowa / Sigourney

Ryan Wagers Simpson Sr. DL Redfield, Iowa / West Central Valley

Jordan Beem Simpson So. RB Altoona, Iowa / Southeast Polk

Drew Jensen Simpson Fr. PK Indianola, Iowa / Indianola

Donald Miller Wartburg Sr. WR Maywood, Ill. / Romeoville