Women's Soccer Named Team Ethic and Sportsmanship Award Winner

Dec 30, 2014

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Founded in 1941 and based in Kansas City, Mo., the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) has grown into the world’s largest soccer coaches’ organization that serves members at every level of the game. The NSCAA works every day to inspire coaches and ignite their passion for the game so they pass it on to players and others in the soccer community.

The NSCAA announced 125 teams who received either the Gold, Silver or Bronze version of the 2014 College Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes teams who exhibit fair play, sporting behavior and adherence to the laws of the game, as reflected by the number of yellow caution cards or red ejection cards they are shown by referees throughout the season.

The 2014 IIAC Champion University of Dubuque women's team received the Bronze Award which was awarded to 35 teams, who received no reds and a maximum of 10 yellows cards throughout the season. The Spartans finished their stellar season by competing in the NCAA Division III Regionals and finishing with a 16-5-1 overall record.

The Spartans also earned the NSCAA Academic Team Award for 2013-14 as the women's soccer team averaged a cumulative grade point average of  3.45 for head coach Jason Berna. UD was one of just 188 schools to have both squads earn the academic honor and were one of two IIAC schools to earn the distinction.


School Coach Men or Women
Augustana College Scott Mejia Women
Brevard College Shigeyoshi Shinohara Women
Drury University Alf Bilbao Women
University of Dubuque Jason Berna Women
Eastern Connecticut State University Greg DeVito Men
Frostburg State University Brian Parker Women
Husson University Jeff Gettler Men
University of Illinois-Springfield Molly Grisham Women
Louisiana Tech University Kevin Sherry Women
University of Minnesota-Crookston Joe Alianiello Women
Minnesota State University-Mankato Brian Bahl Women
Missouri Western State University Chad Edwards Women
Montana State University-Billings Wojtek Krikowiak Women
Newman University Victor Garcia-Bebek Women
University of Northern Colorado Tim Barrera Women
Northern Kentucky University Bob Sheehan Women
University of North Georgia Chris Adams Women
Notre Dame College Mike Shiels Women
University of Notre Dame Bobby Clark Men
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford Derek Panol Men
Plymouth State University Rob Wright Men
Queens University of Charlotte Katie Talbert Women
Shepherd University Jonathan Thayil Women
Southeastern Louisana University Blake Hornbuckle Women
Southwestern College Joe Wood Women
Spring Hill College Christian DeVries Women
Stevens Institute of Technology Jeff Parker Women
University of Tennessee-Martin Philip McNamara Women
Texas A&M University G Guerreri Women
Trinity International University Patrick Gilliam Men
The Sage Colleges Kyle Clancy Men
Webster University Luigi Scire Women
William Jewell College Jefferson Roblee Women
William Penn University William McGowan Women
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee David Madsen Women