Nine Spartans Named to Winter All-IIAC Academic Team

Mar 30, 2015

IIAC Release

DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque's five winter athletics programs represented nine of the 88 student-athletes on the 2015 Winter All-Iowa Conference Academic teams.

The Spartans finished with the fourth-most student-athletes in the Iowa Conference (IIAC) as Luther placed the most with 20. Following Luther was Coe (19 student-athletes), Simpson (17), UD (9), Central (7), Loras and Wartburg (6), and finally Buena Vista (4). The winter sports included men's and women's basketball, men's and women's swimming & diving, and wrestling.

Out of 30 total women's basketball honorees, the foursome of Emily Brinker (Jr./Human Health Science), Molly Richardson (Jr./Wellness and Exercise Science), Jessica Kirkwood (Jr./Wellness and Exercise Science), and Devin Glenski (So./Nursing) represented the University of Dubuque women's basketball team. Both Richardson and Kirkwood received their second award, while Brinker and Glenski earned their first honor. Brinker was also named All-IIAC Honorable Mention for her achievements on the court.

The University of Dubuque wrestling team comprised a majority of the 12 total wrestling selections thanks to the quintet of Jason Davidson (Jr./Environmental Biology and Chemistry), Drew Lattner (So./Finance and Accounting), Cody Ortmann (Sr./ Wellness and Exercise Science), Jared Smith (Sr./Business and Marketing Management), and Keegan Witbeck (So./Business Management).

Combined with the 50 student-athletes named to the 2014 Fall All-IIAC Academic team, the University of Dubuque now ranks fourth-overall with a total of 59 this school year.