Tennis Teams Announce Season Awards

May 24, 2017

DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque women's and men's tennis teams announced season team awards at their banquet held recently on campus. Head Coach Claudio Giraldi awarded team MVP, Leadership, Academic, and Dedication Awards. Most Valuable Performer is based on greatest impact on team’s results/success and improvements; wins, high quality of game being played, and best mental approach to matches.

Leadership is presented to an individual who set a positive example on and off the court (role model), helps teammates improve and/or get through tough situations on/off the court, who has shown good display of sportsmanship and kept emotions in check, and a person who maintains good two-way communication with the coaching staff.

Academic award is based off the overall cumulative grade point average for the current year. It is important to note attendance at matches and practices is very important as it can be challenging to balance sports with good grades. 

Dedication award is assigned by the coaches and awarded based on a few criteria including: being on-time and ready to go for practice, prompt for workouts, overall participation, dedication shown in all areas of UD tennis program.

Women's Tennis
Leadership- Arantxa Martinez
MVP- Arantxa Martinez
Dedication- Naomi Amani and Megan Ranney
Academic- Ashley Palacios-Quinonez

Men's Tennis
MVP- Justin Castro
Dedication- Matthew Sablay
Academic- Matthew Sablay