2017 IIAC Women's Tennis Tournament Oct. 13-14

Oct 12, 2017

2017 Women's Tennis Individual Championship Tournament Page

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - The 2017 Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Women’s Tennis Individual Flighted Singles (A,B,C) and Doubles (A,B) Tournament will take place Friday, October 13 and Saturday, October 14 at Byrnes Park Tennis Center in Waterloo, Iowa. Play will begin at 9:00 a.m. on both days.

This years tournament, hosted by the University of Dubuque, will feautre 16 players in the A-flight singles, 33 B-flight singles players, and 42 entries in the C-flight singles. Doubles action will see 13 teams take the court in the A-flight and 29 in the B-flight. 

This years A-flight singles will feature the top four place winners from 2016. Arantxa Martinez of Dubuque will look to defend her title, while 2016 runner-up Haley Resnick of Coe, third place finisher Lauren French of Coe, and fourth place finisher Jackie Cychosz of Luther will be in the hunt for a championship of their own. 2016 B-flight singles champion, Ines Albino of Dubuque is not in the field this year. B-singles runner-up a year ago, Emma Cooke of Loras has the No.2 seed while Wartbug's Lauren O'Brianhas earned the top seed. The C-flight will also see a new champion in 2017 with 2016 winner Gabby Olejniczak of Wartburg moving into the B-flight draw. 

In doubles play, 2016 A-flight winners French/Resnick of Coe will look to defend their title as the tournaments top seeded pair. B-flight doubles will see a new team earn a title in 2017 with 2016 winners Kylie DeWees and Jessica Dickhut or Loras not in the draw. The top seed in this years B-draw went to Cooke and Bri Eighme of Loras. 

Brackets for the 2017 championship can be found on tournament page. Updated results will be posted to the tournament page throughout the weekend.