Cross Country at Iowa Conference Championships

Oct 28, 2017

Full Women’s Results     Full Men’s Results

WAVERLY, Iowa – The University of Dubuque cross country teams traveled to Wartburg on Saturday for the Iowa Conference Championships. On a cold and windy day, both the Spartan’s men’s and women’s team finished in seventh place.

The women’s team finished in seventh place with a score of 180. The Spartans had a total time of 2:04.36 and an average of 24:56 Megan Ely finished first for the Spartans in 31st place and in a time of 24:23.0. That time gave her a personal record, breaking her previous record by 23 seconds. Abigail Ray was not far behind Ely, finishing in 24:26.5 and in 33rd place. Ray broke her season best time by 22 seconds and set a personal record.

Heather Muntz rounded out the top three for UD and also set a personal record in the process, with a time of 24:50.9 and coming in 41st. Jade Romagna and Isabella Mazzanti finshed next for UD with times of 25:18.7 and 25:36.8, respectively. Mazzanti’s time was a season best. Edith Flores was sixth for the Spartans and 70th overall with a time of 25:46.5 and Jaclyn Roeder closed out the Spartans top seven in 25:57.6 and in 76th.

Women’s Team Results
1. Nebraska Wesleyan
2. Wartburg
3. Luther
4. Loras
5. Central
6. Simpson
7. Dubuque
8. Coe
9. Buena Vista

The men’s team finished in seventh place as well with a score of 233, total time of 2:20.00 and an average of 28:00. Dalton Moore paced UD with a time of 27:21.4 and coming in 56th place. The two through seven runners for the Spartans all set personal records, despite the cold and windy conditions. Joel Avila came in second for the Spartans and 73rd overall with a time of 27:55.8. Avila shattered his old personal best time by 1:20, it was the biggest improvement of any Spartan.  Jacob Heitter was not far behind Avila, coming in, in a time of 28:06.6 and breaking his old personal best time by 40 seconds.

Joseph Tobin finished in the middle of all the Spartan runners, setting a personal record by 23 seconds with a total time of 28:13.7. Brandon Sindt finished just inside the top 100 overall runners, running his race in 28:21.9 to finish in 92nd place. Tavian Rumple and Michael Orcutt rounded out the top seven runners for UD with finishes of 29:05.0 and 30:36.1, respectively. Rumpled destroyed his old personal record by 54 seconds and Orcutt set his new best by one second.

Men’s Team Results
1. Loras
2. Wartburg
3. Nebraska Wesleyan
4. Luther
5. Simpson
6. Central
7. Dubuque
8. Coe
9. Buena Vista

The teams are off next weekend before traveling to Northfield, Minnesota to run in the NCAA Division III Central Regional Qualifier on November 11th.