Men's Tennis Heads into IIAC Tournament After Weekend Sweep

Apr 30, 2018

STORM LAKE, Iowa - After pulling out a close 5-4 victory on Saturday over Nebraska Wesleyan, the University of Dubuque men's tennis team cruised to a 9-0 win over the Buena Vista Beavers to punch their ticket to the Iowa Conference Tournament. 

The win over the Beavers (5-13, 0-8 IIAC) gave the Spartans (5-11, 3-5 IIAC) the sixth seed in the upcoming Iowa Conference Tournament. The Spartans will open the IIAC Team Tournament on Friday, May 4th at 4:00 p.m. against the three seed, Central College Dutch. Coe College will host the 2018 tournament after winning the regular season title. 

The semifinals will feature top-seeded Coe versus the winner of Loras/Wartburg at the Clark Racquet Center on Saturday morning at 9:00 a.m. In the other semifinal match, second-seeded Luther draws the winner of Central/Dubuque with the 9:00 a.m. match being played at the Veterans Memorial Tennis Center.

The championship match is slated to begin at 1:30 p.m. in Cedar Rapids, Iowa at Coe College's Clark Racquet Center. 

Ranfer Hernandez is ending his senior season on a hot streak as he heads into the conference tournament on a season-high, five match win streak in singles play. Hernandez, Matthew Sabley and Juan Quiroga all won both of their singles matches over the weekend and the Spartans won five of their six matches in doubles play against the Prairie Wolves and Beavers.

Singles competition
1. Matthew Sablay (DBQM) def. John Foss (BVUM) 6-2, 6-4
2. Juan Quiroga (DBQM) def. Aaron Pluym (BVUM) 6-1, 6-0
3. Ranfer Hernandez (DBQM) def. Jake Thompson (BVUM) 6-3, 6-3
4. Zebulon Hill (DBQM) def. Zach Henderson (BVUM) 6-0, 7-6 (7-3)
5. Ozzy Schiessl (DBQM) def. Aaron Mumm (BVUM) 6-3, 7-5
6. Bogdan Ganea (DBQM) def. Cole Goslar (BVUM) 6-3, 6-3


Doubles competition
1. Juan Quiroga/Ranfer Hernandez (DBQM) def. John Foss/Jake Thompson (BVUM) 8-5
2. Matthew Sablay/Zebulon Hill (DBQM) def. Aaron Pluym/Aaron Mumm (BVUM) 8-4
3. Ozzy Schiessl/Bogdan Ganea (DBQM) def. Andrew Boell/Cole Goslar (BVUM) 8-1