Spartans Volleyball Earn AVCA Team Academic Award

Jul 17, 2018

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced that the University of Dubuque was one of 973 recipients of the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2017-18 school year.

The Spartans have earned the AVCA Team Academic Award all nine seasons under head coach April Elsbernd. UD was one of 173 Division III programs and one of eight Iowa Conference schools to receive the award. Jenna Runde (Elgin, Ill/Burlington Central) was named First Team CoSIDA All-District for the 2017 season. Runde, along with Rylee Andresen, Karrah Davis, Sarrah Farraday, Paige Harbort, Kendall Kaufmann, Rachel Livingston, Johanna Steggall and Jessica Wehrle were all Academic All-Iowa Conference in 2017.

This is the second straight year that the Spartans have finished with a top 25 GPA in NCAA Division III.

UD opens the 2018 campaign on August 31st when they travel to Memphis, Tennessee to participate in the Rhodes College Invitational. The Spartans home and Iowa Conference opener take place on September 12th when Coe College comes to the Stoltz Sports Center at 7:30 p.m. UD is coming off a record-breaking season in which they went 28-7.

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.  

A complete list of the 2017-18 AVCA Team Academic Award Recipients:
Full List of Award Recipients