Track and Field Heads to National Championships

May 21, 2018


LA CROSSE, Wis. – 15 University of Dubuque student-athletes have secured a spot at the 2018 NCAA Division III Outdoor Championships. The championships will talk place May 24th to May 26th in La Crosse, Wisconsin hosted by UW-La Crosse.

Blaze Mufin (Dallas City, Ill.) will have a busy week as he will compete in the discus, shot put and hammer throw. Murfin is just one of two males to qualify in all three of those events. He comes into the weekend ranked second in the shot put (17.30m), 12th in the discus (50.20m) and 11th in the hammer (57.65m). Murfin finished eighth in the shot put in 2017.

Colfay Pointer (Rochelle, Ill.) has been steady and strong all year for the Spartans. Pointer earned the 12th seed in the 400m open run with a mark of 47.82 seconds.

Both the men and women 4x100 teams qualified for the championships with the women (Skrove, Burks, Flowers, Beeman) qualifying at the last chance meet last Thursday. The men’s team of Thomas, Cushion-Lewis, Gray and Ellis, heads into the meet just 0.55 seconds behind the one seed UW-La Crosse.

Tanasha Atwater (Davenport, Iowa) will look to repeat as the shot put champion after winning it all in 2017. She was the first women in school history to win an outdoor national champion. Atwater will also compete in the hammer throw.

Rebecca Burmahl (Monticello, Iowa) joins Tanasha Atwater in the hammer throw. Burmahl comes into the meet as the seventh seed (54.86m) with Atwater right behind her as the eighth seed (54.81).

Two Spartan women qualified for the discus throw on Thursday afternoon. Shelby Lane (Panora, Iowa) comes in as the 13th seed (46.13) and freshman Kayla Slowick (Eldridge, Iowa) grabbed the final spot in the event with a mark of 44.04.

Abby Willis (DeWitt, Iowa) will close her fantastic senior season in the javelin of Thursday afternoon. Willis comes into the championships 10th in Division III in the women’s javelin, needing to jump just two spots this weekend to earn All-American status.

UD Qualifiers Schedule
Thursday, May 24

11:00 a.m. – Blaze Murfin – Men’s Discus Throw (Prelims/Finals)
1:30 p.m. – Shelby Lane and Kayla Slowick – Women’s Discus Throw (Prelims/Finals)
2:00 p.m. - Kyle Thomas, Clayton Gray, Isaiah Ellis, Maurice Cushion-Lewis – Men’s 4x100m Relay (Prelims)
2:15 p.m. - Alyssa Skrove, Brittany Burks, Asha Flowers, Alison Beeman –Women’s  4x100m Relay (Prelims)
4:00 p.m. – Abby Willis – Women’s Javelin Throw (Prelims/Finals)

Friday, May 25th
1:00 p.m. – Tanasha Atwater – Women’s Shot Put (Prelims/Finals)
3:00 p.m. – Blaze Murfin – Men’s Shot Put (Prelims/Finals)
4:00 p.m. - Colfay Pointer – Men’s 400m run (Prelims)

Saturday, May 26th
11:00 a.m. – Blaze Murfin – Men’s Hammer Throw (Prelims/Finals)
12:05 p.m. - Kyle Thomas, Clayton Gray, Isaiah Ellis, Maurice Cushion-Lewis – Men’s 4x100m Relay (Finals)**
12:15 p.m. - Alyssa Skrove, Brittany Burks, Asha Flowers, Alison Beeman –Women’s  4x100m Relay (Finals)**
1:10 p.m. – Colfay Pointer – Men’s 400m run (Finals)**
2:00 p.m. – Tanasha Atwater and Rebecca Burmahl – Women’s Hammer Throw (Prelims/Finals)
**If Qualified

Live Video:
Live Results:  
Full Schedule:
Meet Website:

Ticket Prices

Ticket sales will begin each day one hour prior to the start of competition. Cash or credit card will be accepted. The Roger Harring Stadium at Veterans Memorial Field Sports Complex and all competition venues will open to spectators one hour prior to the beginning of competition each day.

Single Day Ticket
Adult: $12.00
* Youth/Senior/Student: $10.00
All Session Ticket (Thursday, Friday, Saturday)
Adult: $30.00
* Youth/Senior/Student: $25.00
* Youth: High school students and under; Visiting college students with campus ID.
* Senior: 60+
* Children: Two and under are free.