UD to Hold Athletic Hall of Fame Awards Ceremony

Oct 3, 2017 | J.Crane, UD News

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Five accomplished former University of Dubuque student-athletes and one team will be enshrined in the UD Athletic Hall of Fame during a private awards ceremony on Saturday, Oct. 7. The honorees will also be recognized during halftime of the football game against Buena Vista University.

The honorees are Amy (Meyer) Buss, of Arlington, Wisconsin, from volleyball and track and field; Tyler Daugherty, of Dubuque, from men’s basketball; Joseph Hapanionek, of Hoffman Estates, Illinois, from baseball; Nancy (Nagel) Leonard, of Dubuque, from women’s tennis; and Gregg Wiersema, of Morrison, Illinois; from track and field. The 1969 wrestling team will also be honored.

New in 2017, the hall of fame ceremony will be available through Facebook Live at www.facebook.com/UDubuque

The UD Athletic Hall of Fame began with the induction of the first class in 1989. The induction of the Class of 2017 increases the total number of hall of fame honorees to 112 individuals, seven teams, six coaches, and three administrators.

Amy (Meyer) Buss: Amy (Meyer) Buss (250x313 px)

Amy (Meyer) Buss graduated from the University of Dubuque in 1996 with a bachelor of business administration degree. During her time at UD, Amy was a member of the volleyball team from 1992-1995 and competed in track and field from 1993-96. Amy and her family reside in Arlington, Wisconsin.

As a senior, Amy qualified for the NCAA Division Outdoor Track & Field Championships, placing 10th in the heptathlon. On the volleyball court she was a two-time First Team All-Iowa Conference selection (1994, 1995). The Spartans also won the IIAC title in 1995. Meyer holds the school records for career total blocks (584), career solo blocks (268), single season total blocks (199; 1995), and single season solo blocks (69; 1994).

Tyler Daugherty: Tyler Daugherty (250x313 px)

Tyler Daugherty graduated from the University of Dubuque in 2008 and received his master’s degree in business administration from UD in 2010. During his time at UD, Tyler was a part of the men’s basketball team from 2004-2008. Tyler and his family live in Dubuque.

Tyler was a two-time First Team All-Iowa Conference selection (2006-07, 2007-08) and earned Third Team D3hoops.com All-Region as a senior in 2007-08). He holds the school record for career three-pointers made (255). Tyler is also sixth in career points (1724), second in career assists (354), and fifth in career steals (137).

Joe Hapanionek: Joe Hapanionek (250x313 px)

Joe Hapanionek studied sociology and criminal justice at the University of Dubuque and played baseball during the 2004 and 2005 seasons. He was the 2005 NCAA Division III National Champion in home runs (.43) and slugging percentage (.888). Joe and his family live in Hoffman Estates, Illinois.

Joe earned Third Team ABCA and NCBWA All-American honors in 2005. He was twice named an Honorable Mention National Player of the Week during the 2005 season. Joe is the school record holder in career home runs (23), career slugging percentage (.771), career saves (8), single season home runs (16; 2005), single season runs batted in (53; 2005), single season total bases (111; 2005), single season slugging percentage (.888; 2005), and single season saves (5; 2005).

Nancy (Nagel) Leonard: Nancy (Nagle) Leonard (250x313 px)

Nancy (Nagel) Leonard graduated from the University of Dubuque in 1988 with her bachelor of arts degree in English. She was a four-year member of the women’s tennis team, competing from 1984-1988. Nancy lives in Dubuque with her husband.

Nancy finished in third place at the Iowa Conference Women’s Tennis Championships in 1984 and 1985. She was named Team MVP all four years. She is celebrating her 30th year teaching Spanish at Wahlert Catholic High School.

Gregg Wiersema: Gregg Wiersema (250x313 px)

Gregg Wiersema graduated from the University of Dubuque in 2006 with a bachelor of business administration degree. During his time at UD, Gregg was a member of the track team from 2003-2006. Gregg and his family reside in Morrison, Illinois.

Gregg earned NCAA All-American honors in two events (100m Dash; 2004, 4x100m Relay; 2005). As a senior he earned MVP honors at the Iowa Conference Outdoor Track & Field Championships. He is an eight-time IIAC champion (OUTDOORS: 100m Dash – 2003, 2004, 2006; 200m Dash – 2003, 2006; 4x100m Relay – 2005, 2006 / INDOORS: 55m Dash - 2004) and 14-time All-IIAC honoree.

1969 Wrestling Team: 1969 Wrestling Team (500x313 px)

The 1969 Wrestling team coached by Kenneth “Moco” Mercer finished the regular season with a perfect 12-0 record and place third at the Iowa Conference Wrestling Championships. They outscored the opposition 337-65 in the regular season.

1969 Team: John Ehrmann (C'70), Edward Hendrix (C'71), Ozell Hudson (C'69), Morris "Maury" Johnson (C'72) posthumously, Larry "Bud" Knackstedt (C'72), Charles "Chuck" Knutsen (C'72), Bruce Milkint (C'72), Stephen Ostheimer (C'72), Michael Reid (C'71), Joel Simms (C'70), Dennis Struck (C'71), and William Whitehead (C'71).

Facebook Live - Hall of Fame 2017