Education Faculty


Debra Stork
Debra Stork
Teacher Education Department Head; Professor of Education

PhD, University of Wyoming
MA, University of Northern Iowa
BA, University of Northern Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3453
E-mail: dstork@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 305 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3410

Jennifer Benson
Jennifer Benson
Math Teaching Specialist

MAT: Webster University, St. Louis



Office Phone: 563.589.3272
E-mail: jbenson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 300 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416

Chad Biermeier
Chad Biermeier
Director of Clinical Experience/Instructor | Director of UD for Kids

MAE, UW-Platteville
BA, UW-Platteville

Office Phone: 563.589.3590
E-mail: cbiermeier@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 301 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3410

Katie Boyer
Katie Boyer
Assistant Professor of Education

MA, Loras College
BA, Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3853
E-mail: kboyer@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.(563) 589-3410

Angela Brandel
Angela Brandel
Associate Professor of Education

EdD in progress, University of Wyoming
MA, Loras College
BS, Southwest State University (MN)

Office Phone: 563.589.3238
E-mail: abrandel@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 310 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3410

Jacquilyn Etienne
Jacquilyn Etienne
Adjunct Education Faculty

MEd, Clarke College
BS, Black Hills State University

Office Phone: 563.589.3232
Office Location: 309 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3410

Laurie Fallon
Laurie Fallon
Adjunct Instructor/Education

Master Educator Special Education (K-12)



E-mail: lfallon@dbq.edu 
Biography - Click Here

Laurie recently began teaching several on-line and hybrid courses for UD and she is also teaching Secondary Special Education as a Strategist II instructor at Western Dubuque High School. 


Jeffrey Haverland
Jeffrey Haverland
Assistant Professor of Teacher Education

EdD, Edgewood College
MAE, University of Northern Iowa
BS, Loras College
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBCT)



Office Phone: 563.589.3723
E-mail: jhaverland@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 303 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3410

Tom Lytle
Tom Lytle
Adjunct - Physical Education

MA, Loras College - Athletic Administration
BS, University of Dubuque 



Office Phone: 563.589.3232
E-mail: tlytle@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 307 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3410
Biography - Click Here

Tom Lytle has been adjunct faculty member in the Education Department at the University of Dubuque for 18 years. He also teaches for Keystone AEA (20 years), teaches driver's education for Northeast Iowa Community College (15 years), and taught and coached in the Dubuque Community School District for 38 years. For the last 46 years he has volunteered with the Sundown Ski Patrol and continues to do so today.


Julie Phillips
Julie Phillips
Assistant Professor of Education

EdD, Edgewood College
MBA, Nova University
MA, University of Iowa
BA, University of Northern Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3579
E-mail: jphillips@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 300 Smith Hall

Dennis Rima
Dennis Rima
Adjunct Instructor of Education; Voice of the Spartans


Office Phone: 563.589.3232
E-mail: drima@dbq.edu 

Kathleen Saleh
Kathleen Saleh
Assistant Professor of Education


Office Phone: 563.589.3589
E-mail: ksaleh@dbq.edu 
Fax: 563.589.3410

Susan Scott
Susan Scott
Secretary, Education Department


Office Phone: 563.589.3232
E-mail: sscott@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 307 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3410

Cindy Steffens
Cindy Steffens
Adjunct Instructor of Education

MA, Clarke University
BA, Clarke University


Jon West
Jon West
Adjunct Education and Physical Education/Health, Wellness and Sport

BA, University of Dubuque
MA, Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3232
E-mail: jwest@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 307 Smith Hall
Fax: 563.589.3410