English Faculty


Jonathan Barz
Jonathan Barz
Professor of English; Department Head

PhD, University of Minnesota
MA, Western Washington University
BS, Concordia University

Office Phone: 563.589.3185
E-mail: jbarz@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 302 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416


Lauren Alleyne
Lauren Alleyne
Assistant Professor of English; Poet in Residence

MFA, Cornell University
MA, Iowa State University
BA, St. Francis College

Office Phone: 563.589.3798
E-mail: lalleyne@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 303 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416


Sean Benson
Sean Benson
Professor of English

Ph.D., M.A.T., B.A.

Office Phone: 563.589.3187
E-mail: sbenson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 304 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416


Robert Gomoll
Robert Gomoll
Adjunct English Faculty

MA, Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3262
E-mail: rgomoll@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 309 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3722


Robert Happ
Robert Happ
Adjunct English Faculty

EdS, Western Illinois University
MA, SUNY Brockport
BA, Ottawa University

Office Phone: 563.589.3764
E-mail: rhapp@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 313 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416


Andrew Jones
Andrew Jones
Adjunct Professor of English

MFA, Minnesota State University
BA, California State University

Office Phone: 563.589.3764
E-mail: asjones@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 313 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416


Michele McKinlay
Michele McKinlay
English Faculty and Research Writing Coordinator

MA, University of Northern Iowa
BA, University of Northern Iowa
BA, University of Iowa



Office Phone: 563.589.3678
E-mail: mmckinla@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416

Matt Muilenburg
Matt Muilenburg
Professional Writing Consultant; Adjunct English Faculty

MFA, Wichita State University
BA, Western Illinois University

Office Phone: 563.589.3641
E-mail: mmuilenburg@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 213 Charles C. Myers Library

Jeannine Pitas
Jeannine Pitas
Assistant Professor of English and Spanish

PhD, University of Toronto; Comparative Literature
MA, University of Toronto; Comparative Literature
BA, Sarah Lawrence College; Literature and Philosophy

Office Phone: 563.589.3779
E-mail: jpitas@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 305 Van Vliet

Buzz R. Pounds
Buzz R. Pounds
Adjunct Faculty, English

Ph.D. University of Louisville

Office Phone: 563.589.3764
E-mail: bpounds@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 313 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416

Jessica Schreyer
Jessica Schreyer
Associate Professor of English

PhD, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
MA, University of Northern Iowa
BA, University of Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3872
E-mail: jschreye@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 307 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416