University of Dubuque

shadow

Athletic Administration

Dan Runkle Dan Runkle
Biography - Click Here

Dan Runkle joined the University of Dubuque as Director of Athletics in August of 2002. Runkle came to the University of Dubuque after 21 years (1981-2001) as head football coach and assistant professor at Division II Minnesota State University, Mankato. Runkle is a member of the Athletic Hall of Fame at Illinois College, Minnesota State University, Mankato and the North Central Conference (NCC).

While at MSU-Mankato Runkle won two North Central Conference championships (1987,1993), made three NCAA Division II playoff appearances (1987,1991,1993), and was named North Central Conference Coach of the Year (1987). His 108 career wins are the most by any MSU-Mankato Football coach and the 14 highest total in Division II history. In addition, Runkle was named Football Gazette Division II National Coach of the Year in 1991. During his tenure 44 players were named First Team All-NCC with 30 All-Americans and two Harlon Hill finalists. In the classroom, Runkle worked heavily with his student-athletes to help them achieve a team GPA of 3.0 and a graduation rate of 93%.

A 1968 graduate of Illinois College in Jacksonville, Ill. Runkle would earn a combined 10 athletic letters in baseball, basketball, and football en route to being named to IC’s Hall of Fame in 1993. Following graduation, Runkle earned his masters in education with an emphasis in Sports Administration from Western Illinois University while serving as a graduate assistant football coach. Runkle has also made stops at several Division I institutions including: University of Utah, University of South Dakota, Northern Arizona University, and University of Minnesota.

Runkle and his wife Debra reside in Dubuque. He has two children, Tad and Sara and two grandkids.

Director of Athletics
(563) 589-3599
311 Stoltz Sports Center
drunkle@dbq.edu
Debra R. Runkle Debra R. Runkle
Biography - Click Here

Head Athletic Trainer, Medical Coordinator, Athletic Facilities Director, Assistant Athletic Director/SWA

Debra R. Runkle, MA, ATC/L

BS, South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD 1979
Major: Physical Education Minor: Athletic Training & Coaching 

MA, Mankato State University, Mankato, MN 1984
Thesis: "The Effects of Full Hip-Flexion and 45-Degree Straight Leg Raising Exercises on Retropatellar Pain." 

Debra earned her bachelor of science in physical education from South Dakota State University (Brookings, SD), and her master of arts in physical education from Mankato State University (Mankato, MN) with an emphasis on sports medicine.

A certified athletic trainer since 1979, she has traveled internationally as a member of the United States Olympic Training Center (USOC).As a medical staff member for the USOC she has traveled with Team USA to the 2000 Olympics in Sidney, Australia, 1999 Pan American Games in Winnipeg, Canada, 1998 World Youth Games in Moscow, Russia, and the 1996 Paralympic Games in Atlanta, Georgia. Additionally, she served as athletic trainer with the USA Wheelchair Team and Cerebral Palsy Teams. In 1982 she received the National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA) Outstanding Research and Injury Award.

Previously, she was an Assistant Professor and Athletic Trainer at Minnesota State University, Mankato. She taught various classes with the Human Performance Department and in the nationally known accredited Athletic Training program for 17 years. Prior to MSU, M she was employed as instructor and athletic trainer at Chadron State College, and was a teacher, coach and athletic trainer in the Dell Rapids School District, in Dell Rapids, South Dakota for 3 years after graduating from SDSU.

Deb is a member of several professional organizations, including the National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA), Wheelchair Sports USA, College Athletic Trainers Society, National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), and the American Alliance of Health, Physical Education and Recreation (AAHPER).She is co-author of the college textbook Athletic Protective Equipment Care, Selection and Fitting and has published articles on eating disorders and athletic training topics. In 2002 & 2003, she was a finalist for the National Athletic Trainers Association Gail Weldon Woman Athletic Trainer Award. She is presently a member of the NCAA Committee on Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sports.

Associate Athletic Director; University Medical Coordinator; Head Athletic Trainer
(563) 589-3244
305 Stoltz Sports Center
drrunkle@dbq.edu
Jason Berna Jason Berna
Biography - Click Here

Jason Berna joined the University of Dubuque in 2001. He started the men's and women's soccer programs in 2001 and was both the Men's and Women's Head Soccer coach for eight season before stepping down as the Men's Coach in 2008 to focus all his energy on the women's program. He led the women's team to ten straight conference tournament appearances and 11 out of 13 for the programs history. He led the men's team to two straight playoff appearances with his last year ending in the IIAC Championship semi-finals. He was named IIAC Women's Coach of the year in 2005, 2009, 2012, and 2013.

As the Women's Coach, he has coached: 42 All-Iowa Conference athletes (22-First Team/20-Second Team), 5 All-Region performers, 2 Conference MVP and 52 Academic All-Conference student-athletes. He has always pushed his teams to not only do well on the field but in the class room. The women's program has received team academic awards from the NSCAA in 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012 for having above a 3.0 team GPA.

Berna graduated from Loras College where he played four years, was a three-time All-Iowa Conference selection, and three-year captain. He also trained and played in 1999 with the Des Menace PDL team for one summer before tearing his ACL for the second time. He was an assistant coach with his alma mater for one season with the men's and women's soccer programs before joining UD. Berna also serves as the Dubuque Soccer Club administrator and as an Iowa Olympic Development State Staff coach for the past five years.

Berna holds the highest coaching license offered by the United States Soccer Fedration, an "A" License as well as his NSCAA Goal Keeping License. He is also a state license instructor teaching the USSF "D" course on campus so students can obtain their beginning coaching license while attending UD.

Berna received a master's degree in Physical Education and Athletic Administration and an undergraduate degree in sports science from Loras College in 2001 and 1999. He and his wife Nicole reside in Dubuque with their children.

 
Women's Soccer Coaching Record at the University of Dubuque 
 Year Overall  IIAC     
 2001 4-12-1 2-7-0  8th Place   
 2002 10-8-1 4-4-1  6th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier 
 2003 8-10-0 3-5-0  4th Place   
 2004 10-9-1 3-4-1  5th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier 
 2005 12-6-2 5-2-1  3rd Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2006 9-10-0 3-5-0  4th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2007 13-5-2 4-3-1  4th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2008 9-8-3 4-3-1  5th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2009 15-6-1 6-2-0  2nd Place  *IIAC Tournament Champions; NCAA Tournament Qualifier 
 2010 11-8-2 6-2-0  3rd Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2011 9-8-1 4-3-1 5th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2012 11-7-2 4-2-1  3rd Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
2013 16-5-0 5-2-0 2nd Place *IIAC Tournament Qualifier
  Total    137-102-16     53-44-7      Only Coach in UD Women's Soccer History
Assistant Athletic Director; Head Women's Soccer Coach
(563) 589-3786
216 Mercer-Birmingham
jberna@dbq.edu
Terry Dunn, Jr. Terry Dunn, Jr.
Assistant Athletic Director; Event Manager for Sports
(563) 589-3275
402 McCormick Gym
tdunn@dbq.edu
Paul Misner Paul Misner
Director of Sports Information
(563) 589-3168
210 Charles & Romona Myers Center
pmisner@dbq.edu
Karla Weber Karla Weber
Administrative Assistant;Finance Officer
(563) 589-3227
310 Stoltz Sports Center
kweber@dbq.edu

Staff Directory

    

Administration

       
    Dan Runkle    Director of Athletics    DRunkle@dbq.edu    x3599
    Debra Runkle   Associate Athletic Director   DRRunkle@dbq.edu   x3244
    Jason Berna   Assistant Athletic Director   JBerna@dbq.edu   x3786
    Terry Dunn, Jr.   Assistant Athletic Director   TDunn@dbq.edu   x3275
    Victor Popp   Director of Recreation/CRWC Supervisor   VPopp@dbq.edu   x3449
    Greg Smolinski   VMTC Supervisor   GSmolinksi@dbq.edu   x3646
    Karla Weber   Administrative Asst./Finance Officer     KWeber@dbq.edu   x3227
   

 

 

Athletic Trainers

       
    Debra Runkle   Head Athletic Trainer/Medical Coordinator   DRRunkle@dbq.edu   x3244
    Andrew Accacian   Assistant Athletic Trainer   AAccacian@dbq.edu   x3119
    Sarah Accacian   Assistant Athletic Trainer   SAccacian@dbq.edu   x3119
    Erin Barsema   Assistant Athletic Trainer   EBarsema@dbq.edu   x3857
    Erin Bierstedt   Assistant Athletic Trainer   EBierstedt@dbq.edu   x3119
    Elizabeth Mattson   Assistant Athletic Trainer   EMattson@dbq.edu   x3119
    Christine Roering   Assistant Athletic Trainer   CRoering@dbq.edu   x3119
   
   

Sports Information

       
    Paul Misner   Director of Sports Information    PMisner@dbq.edu    x3168 
    Maxwell Nguyen   Assistant in Sports Information   MNguyen@dbq.edu   x3168
   

 

 

Strength and Conditioning

       
    Michael Mandot   Strength and Conditioning Coach   MMandot@dbq.edu   x3397
    Stephen Vassalotti   Grad Asst. Strength and Conditioning    SVassalotti@dbq.edu    
   
   

Baseball

       
    Paul Wyczawski   Head Baseball Coach    PWyczawski@dbq.edu    x3124 
    Eric Munson   Assistant Baseball Coach   EMunson@dbq.edu   x3124
    Greg Smolinski   Assistant Baseball Coach    GSmolinski@dbq.edu    x3646 
    Matt Wohrley   Assistant Baseball Coach    MWohrley@dbq.edu     
    Lucas Kalb   Graduate Assistant Baseball   LKalb@dbq.edu    x3553
   
   

Men's Basketball

       
    Robbie Sieverding   Head Men's Basketball Coach   RSieverd@dbq.edu   x3248
    Dustin Bierman   Assistant Men's Basketball Coach   DBierman@dbq.edu   x3230
    Lee Piccinelli   Assistant Men's Basketball Coach   LPiccinelli@dbq.edu    
    Jordan Townsend   Graduate Assistant Men's Basketball   JTownsend@dbq.edu   x3425
   
   

Women's Basketball

       
    Mark Noll   Head Women's Basketball Coach   MNoll@dbq.edu   x3279
    Kelsey Steinhagen   Assistant Women's Basketball Coach   KSteinhagen@dbq.edu   x3415
    Mollie Whiting   Graduate Assistant Women's Basketball   MWhiting@dbq.edu    
   
   

Cheer and Stunt

       
    Drew Ritchie   Head Cheer and Stunt Coach   DRitchie@dbq.edu   x3733
    Colleen Day   Graduate Assistant Cheer and Stunt   CDay@dbq.edu   x3733
   
   

Men's and Women's Cross Country

       
    Chad Gunnelson   Head Cross Country Coach   CGunnelson@dbq.edu   x3860
    Geoff Gundlach   Assistant Cross Country Coach   GGundlach@dbq.edu   x3714
   
   

Football

       
    Stan Zweifel   Head Football Coach   SZweifel@dbq.edu   x3173
    Mike Durnin   Assistant Head Football Coach   MDurnin@dbq.edu   x3225
    Drew Nystrom   Offensive Coordinator   DNystrom@dbq.edu   x3584
    Mike Schmidt   Defensive Coordinator   MSchmidt@dbq.edu   x3727
    Miles Hookstead   Assistant Football Coach   MHookstead@dbq.edu   x3209
    Mick Miyamoto   Assistant Football Coach   MMiyamoto@dbq.edu   x3270
    Tyler Simmons   Assistant Football Coach   TSimmons@dbq.edu   x3428
    Bill Duffy   Assistant Football Coach        
    John Osweiler   Assistant Football Coach        
    Austin Hughes   Graduate Assistant Football   AHughes@dbq.edu   x3747
    Ryan Waldock   Graduate Assistant Football   RWaldock@dbq.edu   x3747
   
   

Men's Golf

       
    Jon Davison   Head Men's Golf Coach   JDavison@dbq.edu   x3425
    Eric Wolfe   Assistant Men's Golf Coach   EWolfe@dbq.edu    
   
   

Women's Golf

       
    Jose Reinoso   Head Women's Golf Coach   JReinoso@dbq.edu   x3845
   
   

Men's Lacrosse

       
    Tyler Simmons   Head Men's Lacrosse Coach   TSimmons@dbq.edu   x3428
   
   

Women's Lacrosse

       
    Kendall Loggins   Head Women's Lacrosse Coach   KLoggins@dbq.edu   x3683
    Sarah Decker   Graduate Assistant Women's Lacrosse   SDecker@dbq.edu    
   
   

Men's Soccer

       
    Brad Johnson   Head Men's Soccer Coach   BJohnson@dbq.edu   x3692
    Viktor Bergstrand   Associate Head Men's Soccer Coach   VBergstrand@dbq.edu   x3254
    Sam McKee   Graduate Assistant Men's Soccer   SMcKee@dbq.edu   x3734
   
   

Women's Soccer

       
    Jason Berna   Head Women's Soccer Coach   JBerna@dbq.edu   x3786
    Viktor Bergstrand   Assistant Women's Soccer Coach   VBergstrand@dbq.edu   x3254
    Kendall Loggins   Assistant Women's Soccer Coach   KLoggins@dbq.edu   x3683
    Samantha Etherington   Graduate Assistant Women's Soccer   SEtherington@dbq.edu   x3553
   
   

Softball

       
    Wendi Wipperfurth   Head Softball Coach   WWipperfurth@dbq.edu   x3229
    Mark Rako   Assistant Softball Coach   MRako@dbq.edu    
    Ashley Manusos   Graduate Assistant Softball   AManusos@dbq.edu   x3348
   
   

Men's and Women's Tennis

       
    Claudio Giraldi   Head Men's and Women's Tennis Coach   CGiraldi@dbq.edu   x3706
    Dishon Deering   Graduate Assistant Tennis   DDeering@dbq.edu   x3706
   
   

Men's and Women's Track & Field

       
    Chad Gunnelson   Head Track & Field Coach   CGunnelson@dbq.edu   x3860
    Geoff Gundlach   Assistant Track & Field Coach   GGundlach@dbq.edu   x3714
    Davivorn Dowe   Assistant Track & Field Coach   DDowe@dbq.edu    
    Patrick Lockington   Graduate Assistant Track & Field   PLockington@dbq.edu    
    Jake Malm   Graduate Assistant Track & Field    MMalm@dbq.edu    
   
   

Volleyball

       
    April Elsbernd   Head Volleyball Coach   AElsbernd@dbq.edu   x3231
    Rachel Ferguson   Graduate Assistant Volleyball   RFerguson@dbq.edu    
   
   

Wrestling

       
    Jon McGovern   Head Wrestling Coach   JMcGover@dbq.edu   x3685
    Michael Mena   Assistant Wrestling Coach   MMena@dbq.edu   x3347
    Josh Terrell   Assistant Wrestling Coach   JTerrell@dbq.edu    
    Greg Lettman   Graduate Assistant Wrestling   GLettman@dbq.edu    
    Ryan Warczynski   Graduate Assistant Wrestling   RWarczynski@dbq.edu