Residence Life Staff

Mick Miyamoto
Mick Miyamoto
Vice President and Dean of Student Life

PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison
MS, BS, University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse

Office Phone: 563.589.3270
E-mail: mmiyamoto@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons, Second Floor
Fax: 563.589.3419

Biography - Click Here

Mick starts his third year as the Vice President and Dean of Student Life and is privileged to serve as a volunteer assistant coach for the Spartans. Prior to coming to UD, Mick was the Assistant Dean of Students at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for 20 years. During his tenure there he coached as a volunteer for 10 seasons primarily working with Tightends and also a season with the Offensive line. In addition he served as the Offensive Coordinator for four of those years. Other coaching experiences include: University of Wisconsin-River Falls (Defensive Coordinator, Linebackers and Defensive Backs), University of Wisconsin-Madison (Graduate Assistant), and La Crosse Logan High School (Offensive and Defensive Line).




Mick has degrees in Art Education and College Student Personnel Administration from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and played offensive line there for legendary College Football Hall of Fame Coach Roger Harring. Mick earned a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1993




Tabitha Bartelme
Tabitha Bartelme
Mental Health Counselor

Psy.D, Capella University

Office Phone: 563.589.3253
E-mail: tbartelme@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 214 Peters Commons


Quincy Bufkin
Quincy Bufkin
Area Coordinator - Cassat

MEd, BS

Office Phone: 563.589.3160
E-mail: qbufkin@dbq.edu 

Mishereen A. Ellis
Mishereen A. Ellis
Director of Multicultural Student Engagement


Office Phone: 563.589.3129
E-mail: mellis@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Heritage Center 306-E
Fax: 563.589.3419

Anne Funke
Anne Funke
Career Services Program Assistant

BA

Office Phone: 563.589.3167
E-mail: afunke@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons

Phyllis Garfield
Phyllis Garfield
Director of International Studies

MAC, University of Dubuque
BA, Midland Lutheran College

Office Phone: 563.589.3712
E-mail: pgarfiel@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Heritage Center 306-F
Fax: 563.589.3419


Melissa Griffith-Phelps
Melissa Griffith-Phelps
Director of Student Activities

MA, University of South Dakota
BA, South Dakota State University

Office Phone: 563.589.3583
E-mail: mgriffithphelps@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306D Heritage Center


Rev. James Gunn
Rev. James Gunn
Edwin B. Lindsay Undergraduate Campus Chaplain

MDiv, Dubuque Theological Seminary
BA, BBA, Eastern Washington University

Office Phone: 563.589.3582
E-mail: jgunn@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 203 Blades Hall
Fax: 563.589.3419


Sandy Jewett
Sandy Jewett
Assistant Director of Employer Relations

BA, Golden Gate University
BBA, University of Dubuque



Office Phone: 563.589.3633
E-mail: sjewett@dbq.edu 
Office Location: First Floor, Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3155

Mary Kruser
Mary Kruser
Administrative Assistant to Vice President/Dean of Student Life

BS, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3128
E-mail: mkruser@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 200 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419


Rick Merfeld
Rick Merfeld
Director of Residence Life

MSE, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
BA, Luther College

Office Phone: 563.589.3438
E-mail: rmerfeld@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Second Floor, Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419

Preston Phelps
Preston Phelps
Area Coordinator


Office Phone: 563.589.3163
E-mail: pphelps@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Aitchison Hall

Stephanie Schreck
Stephanie Schreck
Assistant Director of Student Activities

BS, Miami University (OH)

Office Phone: 563.589.3127
E-mail: sschreck@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Heritage Center 306C

Tiye Sherrod
Tiye Sherrod
Hall Director

BA, University of Michigan

Office Phone: 563.589.3160
E-mail: tsherrod@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Donnell Hall
Fax: 563.589.563-589-3419


James Sizer
James Sizer
Area Coordinator, Donnell Hall

MEd, Grand Valley State University
BA, Grano Valley State University

Office Phone: 563.589.3163
E-mail: jsizer@dbq.edu 
Fax: 563.589.(563) 589-3419


Barbara Smeltzer
Barbara Smeltzer
Undergraduate Student Resources Advisor; Campus Mom

BA, University of Dubuque
MA, Clarke College

Office Phone: 563.589.3455
E-mail: bsmeltze@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 210 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419


Allison Smith
Allison Smith
Area Coordinator

MS, University of Central Missouri
BS, South Dakota State University

Office Phone: 563.589.3163
E-mail: amsmith@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 204 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419


Samantha Sonkowsky
Samantha Sonkowsky
International Studies Graduate Intern

BS,

E-mail: ssonkowsky@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306 Heritage Center


Lindsey Ward
Lindsey Ward
Director of First-Year Experience

MSE, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
BS, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Office Phone: 563.589.3866
E-mail: lward@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Heritage Center 306-B
Fax: 563.589.589-3482