University of Dubuque


Sprinters Lead Spartans at UW-Whitewater


Posted Jan 19, 2013

Bodish, Busjahn, Hodge, & Trinco: 1st Place in Women's 4x200m Relay.

Complete Results from the Karl Schlender Invitational

WHITEWATER, WISCONSIN - The University of Dubuque Track and Field teams put on an impressive show at the Karl Schlender Invitational on Saturday. The women's team finished second (of 11 teams) with 87 points. The men finished third (of 12 teams) with 75.5 points.

The Spartans dominated the 60m Dash with the men finishing first, second, and fourth while the women finished third, fourth, and fifth. Senior Phillip Jones (South Holland, Ill./Thornwood) ran a 7.02 second 60m to win the event. Tyrone Galvin (Madison, Wis./Madison East), who qualified first in the preliminaries, finished second at 7.05 seconds. Corey Broussard (Waukesha, Wis./Waukesha South) was fourth at 7.10. The three Spartans accounted for 23 points in the event. On the women's side, Randi Bodish (Guttenberg, Iowa/Clayton RIdge), Leigha Hodge (Madison, Wis./Lafollette), and Jamyia Catchings (Park Forest, Ill./Bloom Trail) finished three-four-five scoring 15 points. The women's 4x200m Relay team of Rachael Busjahn (Sobieski, Wis./Pulaski), Kim Trinco (Schaumburg, Ill./JB Conant), Hodge, and Bodish finished first with a time 1:51.10.

The 200m Dash featured three Spartan women in the top six with Hodge finishing third, Bodish fourth, and Trinco sixth. Galvin finished third on the men's side. Evan Zurbuchen (Hollandale, Wis./Madison West) finished third in the 60m Hurdles at 8.53 seconds, the second fastest time in UD history.

Notable field performances include Kevin Jamison (Hillside, Ill./Proviso West) finishing second in the Triple Jump with a leap of 44' 7.5" and Galvin placing third in the Long Jump at 21' 7.75". Catchings placed second in the Long Jump at 14' 9.75". Jaclyn Lawfer (Kent, Ill./Stockton) placed fourth in the shot put to lead all Spartan throwers with a toss of 37' 5.25".

UP NEXT: The Spartans will travel to UW-Stout for the Warren-Bowlus Open on January 26th.