University of Dubuque


Spartans Earn Berth in IIAC Finals


Posted Oct 31, 2012

Loisann DeLass: 12-saves


WAVERLY, IOWA – The University of Dubuque Women’s Soccer team advanced to the finals of the Iowa Conference Tournament with a 2-1 victory over Wartburg College (12-4-1) on Wednesday night. The Spartan victory earns them a rematch with Loras College (16-4-0) on Saturday, November 3rd at the Rock Bowl. UD was last in the IIAC Championship game in 2009, beating Simpson to earn a spot in the national tournament. Dubuque is now 11-6-2 on the season.

The Spartans wasted no time scoring just 12 seconds into the game as Megan Siepler (La Canada, Calif./La Canada) took a pass from Melanie Prudhomme (Lakemoor, Ill./Wauconda) to give UD a 1-0 lead. With the Wartburg goalkeeper away from the goal, Siepler sent a long shot over the keepers head for the goal. The goal was the sixth of the season for Siepler.

After a barrage of shots on goal by the Knights, Elizabeth Frazier (Downers Grove, Ill./Downers Grove North) put UD up 2-0 with a goal in the 33rd minute. Playing in her first game in over a month, the goal was the third of the year for Frazier.  Assisting on the goal was Lauren Waddell (Poplar Grove, Ill./Belvidere).

Despite being outshot 12-6 in the first half, UD would go into the break leading 2-0. Loisann DeLass (Albuquerque, N.M./Hohenfels) recorded six saves in the period. The second half would be more of the same with Wartburg shooting away but being denied by the UD defense. DeLass finished the second half with six more saves to finish with a season high 12 saves. The lone Knight goal came in the 62nd minute on a free kick.

The 2-1 win was the first victory for UD over Wartburg in the programs 12 year history. Wartburg won the regular season match-up 5-1 on September 22nd.

UP NEXT: The Spartans will play in the Iowa Conference Tournament Championship game versus Loras on Saturday, November 3rd at 5:00. Having won the regular season title, Loras will be host the game. The winner of Saturday’s match will earn the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA DIII Women’s Soccer Championships.