University of Dubuque


Women's Track Finishes Sixth at IIAC Championships


Posted May 13, 2013

Nikki McKenzie: All-IIAC in Long Jump and Triple Jump.

DUBUQUE, IOWA – The University of Dubuque Track and Field teams finished the 2013 Iowa Conference Outdoor Championships with 17 Spartans earning all-conference honors including Men’s 100m Dash Champion Corey Broussard (Waukesha, Wis./Waukesha South) and the Men’s 4x100m Relay team also taking first place. Head Coach Chad Gunnelson was named Men’s Co-Coach of the Year. The Spartans men’s team finished fourth overall with 117 points. The UD women’s team took sixth place with 50 points.

UD women earned All-Iowa Conference three times in field events with Nikki McKenzie (Hoffman Estates, Ill./William Fremd) leading the way with second place finishes in the Long Jump and Triple Jump. Brenda Breimon (Oconomowoc, Wis./Slinger) became the first women in school history to earn All-IIAC in Pole Vault with her second place finish.

The Spartans continued their success in the 100m Dash, finishing 1-2-3 in the finals with Broussard taking the title at 10.92 seconds. Phillip Jones (South Holland, Ill./Thornwood) took second at 11.02 with Tyrone Galvin (Madison, Wis./Madison East) finishing third in 11.10 seconds. Broussard, Jones, Galvin and Payton Hanson (Dodgeville, Wis./Dodgeville) teamed up to take the 4x100m Relay title. Jones also took second in the 200m Dash.

Over the past 11 years, UD sprinters have won the 100m Dash seven times, finished second five times, and took third four times. Over the same period of time, the UD Men’s 4x100m Relay has four first place finishes, four seconds, one third, and finished fourth twice.

UD 100m Dash Results at IIAC Outdoor Championships (since 2003)
1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
Gregg Wiersema - 2003 Gregg Wiersema - 2005    Daunta Peterson - 2005   
Gregg Wiersema - 2004 Jean Metezier - 2006 Jean Metezier - 2009
Gregg Wiersema - 2006 Davivorn Dowe - 2009 Ronnie Mirth - 2010
Orlando Walton - 2007 Davivorn Dowe - 2012  Tyrone Galvin - 2013
Orlando Walton - 2008  Phillip Jones - 2013  
Davivorn Dowe - 2010    
Corey Broussard - 2013       
** of a possible 33 Top 3 place winners, UD has 16 of them


Multi-event performer Tyler Dobratz (Edgerton, Wis./Edgerton) finished second in the Decathlon with a school record 5,910 points. Dobratz won the Discus, Shot Put, and Long Jump. Everett Schwer (Fennimore, Wis./Fennimore) took fifth overall behind second place performances in the Shot Put, Discus, and High Jump. 

The top field performer for the UD men was Christopher Watson (Glen Ellyn, Ill./Glenbard West) with third place finishes in the High Jump and Long Jump. Dubuque would finish 3-4-5 in the Long Jump as Antwone Lindsey (Gulfport, Miss./Gulfport) and Galvin each scored in the event. Lindsey earned all-conference honors in the Triple Jump with a third place finish to go along with fourth in the Long Jump and High Jump. Joe Spencer (Kansas City, Mo./Parkhill South) took third in the Pole Vault just ahead of teammate Temwa Phiri (Lansing, Mich./East Lansing), who finished third at the 2012 IIAC Championships.

Hurdler Evan Zurbuchen (Hollandale, Wis./Madison West) took third in the 110m Hurdles to earn All-IIAC honors.

In addition to Dobratz breaking his own school record in the Decathlon, the Men's and Women's 4x800m Relay teams each broke long standing records. The Men's 4x800m time of 8:08.49 by JaVaughn Busch, DeVante Miller, Payton Nevills, and Jordan Murray broke a record that had stood since 1952. The Women's 4x800m team of Kelley Hauber, Kim Trinco, Ashley Barwick, and Melissa Sawyer finished in 10:11.50 beating the prevous record from 2002. 


UP NEXT: The Spartans will take part in two Last Chance Events this week with the first being at UW-La Crosse on Thursday, May 16th. On Friday, May 17 UD will travel to the North Central College Last Chance Meet in Naperville, Ill.