Aviation Advisory Board

The University of Dubuque has an established Aviation Advisory Board consisting of key industry individuals and alumni of the University. The board make-up supports the University of Dubuque's Bachelor of Science degrees in Flight Operations, Aviation Management, and Applied Aviation Technology.


Purpose and Function

The Aviation Advisory board consists of a select group of individuals representing a diverse cross-section of the aviation industry.  These individuals have shown leadership and professional success in their career, and are fully dedicated to helping the Aviation Department at the University of Dubuque to maintain a highly competitive academic program. 

The Aviation Advisory Board is the primary source of external guidance for the Aviation Department, and the members provide the leadership needed to enhance the aviation program, develop assets needed to ensure the longevity of the aviation program, and to help promote the aviation program within the aviation industry. 

The Aviation Advisory Board will meet once per year during the spring semester, with an interim report provided by the Head of the Aviation Program at the end of the fall semester as needed.  Board meetings and all activities of the Aviation Advisory Board will be chaired or coordinated by the Head of the Aviation Department.


University of Dubuque Aviation Advisory Board Members

Jennifer Boysen, Waste Connections, Executive Sales
Barry Brown, Rockwell Collins Flight Operations, Ret. Senior Captain
Wally Brown, Community Leader
Robert Grierson, Dubuque Regional Airport, Airport Manager
Jon Harberts, Republic Airlines, Captain EMB 170
Bryan Hawley, Execujet Malaysia, Pilot
Mark A. McClain, Northwest/Delta Airlines, Captain Airbus A330
Matthew Metelak, Delta Airlines, Pilot
Heath Miller, John Deere, Global Credit, Training and Development
Chaminda Prelis, University of Dubuque, Director - Aviation Programs
Mike Sterenchuk, American Airlines, Flight Dispatcher