Admission / LIFE Staff


Robert Broshous

Robert Broshous

Associate Vice President and Dean of Admission
MBA, University of Dubuque
BS, Bellevue University

Office Phone: 563.589.3199
E-mail: BBroshou@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 242 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3490

Lesa Aler

Lesa Aler

Operation Coordinator - Cedar Rapids

Office Phone: 319.775.0204
E-mail: LAler@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 296 Blairs Ferry Road NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Fax: 563.589.319.373.0317

Shane Besler

Shane Besler

Senior Director of Admission
MAC, University of Dubuque
BBA, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3172
E-mail: SBesler@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 204 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3490

Kimberly Burnett-Hackbarth

Kimberly Burnett-Hackbarth

Director of Seminary Admission
MBA, University of Dubuque
BA, Clarke University


Office Phone: 563.589.3405
E-mail: KHackbarth@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 238 Charles & Romona Myers Center

Kara Carnes

Kara Carnes

Director of LIFE Admission

Office Phone: 319.775.0204
E-mail: KCarnes@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 296 Blairs Ferry Road NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Fax: 563.589.319.373.0317

Lorna Davis

Lorna Davis

Director of University Admission Operations

Office Phone: 563.589.3200
E-mail: LDavis@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 251 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3690

Ryan England

Ryan England

Admission Counselor
BS, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3930
E-mail: REngland@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 250 Charles & Romona Myers Center

Rick Ernst

Rick Ernst

Director of the Sergeant Jeffrey B. Dodge Veterans Center
Veterans Admission and Assistance Coordinator

BS, Columbia Southern



Office Phone: 563.589.3366
E-mail: RErnst@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 106 Blades Hall

Jose Escoriza

Jose Escoriza

Assistant Director of Admission
BBA, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3581
E-mail: JEscoriza@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 237 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3690

Angie Etscheidt

Angie Etscheidt

Director of LIFE Admission - Cedar Rapids
MBA, University of Dubuque
BA, Mount Mercy University

Office Phone: 319.449.3602
E-mail: AEtscheidt@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 296 Blairs Ferry Rd NE Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Fax: 563.589.319.373.0317

Lara Fluhr

Lara Fluhr

Director of Admission
BS, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3175
E-mail: LFluhr@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Charles and Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3690

Amy Gaffney

Amy Gaffney

Director of LIFE
MAC, University of Dubuque
BA, Upper Iowa University

Office Phone: 563.589.3456
E-mail: AGaffney@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 123 Severance Hall
Fax: 563.589.3690

Jill Groth

Jill Groth

Director of Admission
MBA, University of Dubuque
BBA, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3171
E-mail: JGroth@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 238 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3490

Melissa Gunnelson

Melissa Gunnelson

Senior Director of LIFE Advising
MAC, University of Dubuque
BA, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3123
E-mail: MGunnelson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 229 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.563.589.3490

Hayley Hurst

Hayley Hurst

Application Coordinator/Assistant Office Manager

Office Phone: 563.589.3577
E-mail: HHurst@dbq.edu 

Tiffiney Kavars

Tiffiney Kavars

Director of Campus Visit Experience

Office Phone: 563.589.3174
E-mail: TKavars@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 225 Charles & Romona Myers Center

Yahaira (Yaya) Lugo

Yahaira (Yaya) Lugo

Aviation Admission Counselor

MAC, University of Dubuque
BS, University of Dubuque



Office Phone: 563.589.3201
E-mail: YLugoRuiz@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 242 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3179

Tim Melvold

Tim Melvold

Associate Director of Admission
MBA, University of Dubuque
BBA, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3510
E-mail: TMelvold@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 204 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3617

Karen Middleswarth

Karen Middleswarth

Academic Advisor - Cedar Rapids
MBA, University of Dubuque
BA, University of Northern Iowa

Office Phone: 319.775.0204
E-mail: KMiddleswarth@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 296 Blairs Ferry Road, NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Fax: 563.589.319.373.0317

Lee J. Noethe

Lee J. Noethe

Director of MBA and LIFE Admissions - Dubuque
BA, Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3939
E-mail: LNoethe@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 229 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.563.589.3690

Chris Peterson

Chris Peterson

Director of Admission

BS, University of Dubuque



Office Phone: 563.589.3203
E-mail: CPeterso@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 346 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3490

Todd Rogers

Todd Rogers

Senior Director of University LIFE Admission
BA, Upper Iowa University

Office Phone: 319.640.0548
E-mail: TRogers@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 296 Blairs Ferry Road NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Fax: 563.589.319.373.0317

Shauna Schmitt

Shauna Schmitt

Assistant Director of Admission

MBA, University of Dubuque 2018
BBA, University of Dubuque 2015



Office Phone: 563.589.3565
E-mail: SSchmitt@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 239 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3490

Peter Smith

Peter Smith

Vice President

MA, University of Minnesota
BA, St. Olaf College



Office Phone: 563.589.3668
E-mail: plsmith@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 247 Charles & Romona Myers Center/202 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3162

Breann Tjaarda

Breann Tjaarda

Admission Counselor
BA, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3400
E-mail: BTjaarda@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 240 Charles & Romona Myers Center

Verna Urban

Verna Urban

Campus Switchboard Operator

Office Phone: 563.589.3000
E-mail: VUrban@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 255 Charles & Romona Myers Center
Fax: 563.589.3690

Sean Williams

Sean Williams

Graduate Assistant - Admission

E-mail: SWilliams@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 255 Charles and Romona Myers Center