Spartan Wrestling Storm Conference Opener

Jan 6, 2016

INDIANOLA, Iowa - The University of Dubuque wrestling team opened the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) season on Tuesday night and thanks to a strong start captured the match 25-15 over a much improved Simpson College Storm squad.

The Spartans attacked quickly and took the lead after opening the night with three falls in the lower weights. SImpson would rally back, but the spartans earned a major decision and a decision to retain the road victory. UD continued where they left off over the weekend with Julio Chavez making quick work in the 125 lbs. class with a win by a fall over Chase Erickson in 5:35. Stephen Rosenburg gave the Spartans a 12-0 lead after winning by a fall in the 141 lbs. class over Devin Acevedo in 3:33. Jeremy Melendez earned a quick takedown and the fall at 141 lbs. over Zach Johnston in 1:29 to extend the Spartan lead to 18-0.

Simpson wrestled back into the match by taking the next three weight classes before Elton Turnage stopped the skid with a dominating 8-0 win at 174 lbs. Sawyer McCaffrey collected the win at 285 by a slim 3-2 margin. 

The Spartans travel to Sheboygan, Wis. on Saturday, January 9 to participate in the Lakeland College Muskie Duals which begin at 11:00 a.m.


NCAA Division III Wrestling
Dubuque (6-4, 1-0 IIAC) vs. Simpson (2-6, 0-2 IIAC)
Jan. 5, 2016
Cowles Fieldhouse
Indianola, Iowa

Dubuque 25, Simpson 15

Weight              Summary                                                                                  DBQ     SIM

125                   Julio Chavez (DBQ) pins Chase Erickson, 5:35                           6          0

133                   Stephen Rosenburg (DBQ) pins Deven Acevedo, 3:33                12         0

141                   Jeremy Melendez (DBQ) pins Zach Johnston, 1:29                      18         0

149                   Devan Berrian (SIM) dec. Donovan Lucket, 9-8                           18         3

157                   Jason Clark (SIM) dec. Kody Krenz, 5-2                                      18         6

165                   Garret Jay (SIM) dec. Frank Frassetto, 9-3                                  18         9

174                   Elton Turnage-Manuel (DBQ) maj. dec. Spencer Ward, 8-0           22         9

184                   #8 Brett Roberts (SIM) dec. Collin Heidemann, 7-2                      22         12

197                   DeVaughn Scott (SIM) dec. Cosmo Halwix, 9-8                           22         15

285                   Sawyer McCaffrey (DBQ) dec. Colby Vlieger, 3-2                        25         15


Start Time: 7:00 p.m.

Total Time: 1:18

Attendance: 75

Official: Kent Sesker



Dual started at 125 … rankings from NWCA