Sociology and Criminal Justice Faculty


John Shook
John Shook
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice and Sociology and Criminal Justice Department Head

MPA, Ohio State University
BS, Pennsylvania State University

Office Phone: 563.589.3452
E-mail: jshook@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Severance Hall
Biography - Click Here

A native Pennsylvanian, Mr. Shook received his Bachelor’s Degree from the Pennsylvania State University , and later received a Master of Public Administration from the Ohio State University.  After graduating from Ohio State, Mr. Shook began a career with the Federal Bureau of Prisons as a correctional officer.  During his 29 years with the Federal Bureau of Prisons, he held a variety of positions of increasing responsibility at nine different duty stations, with his last position being Associate Warden at the United States Penitentiary, Leavenworth, Kansas.   During this time, Mr. Shook also instructed in an adjunct capacity at the University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point; Upper Iowa University, Wausau Center and Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kansas.

Mr. Shook held the position of Assistant Professor/Department Chair of Criminal Justice Administration at Waldorf College from August, 2011 to May, 2014.  He accepted the position of Assistant Professor at the University of Dubuque in August, 2014.


Ben Bartels
Ben Bartels
Assistant Professor

JD, Loyola University
BA, University of Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3562
E-mail: bbartels@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Severance Hall
Fax: 563.589.3416

Phil Baskerville
Phil Baskerville
Assistant Professor, Sociology and Criminal Justice

MA/Post-Secondary Education, University of Northern Iowa
BA, Upper Iowa University
AA, Hawkeye Institute of Technology

Office Phone: 563.589.3457
E-mail: pbaskerville@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 315 Severance Hall
Fax: 563.589.3576

Mark Dalsing
Mark Dalsing
Adjunct Instructor

MBA, University of Dubuque
Graduate FBI National Academy-Session 245
BS, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

E-mail: mdalsing@dbq.edu 


Leisa Graves
Leisa Graves
Adjunct Instructor

LMSW

E-mail: lgraves@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Blades

Kim Hilby
Kim Hilby
Assistant Professor of Sociology

BSW
LMSW

Office Phone: 563.589.3718
E-mail: khilby@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 320 Severance Hall
Fax: 563.589.3576

Steve Hodge
Steve Hodge
Adjunct Sociology Faculty


E-mail: shodge@dbq.edu 

Farris  Muhammad
Farris  Muhammad
Adjunct Instructor

PhD, University of Georgia

E-mail: fmuhammad@dbq.edu 

Alice Oleson
Alice Oleson
Associate Professor of Sociology

PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison
MA, University of Wisconsin-Madison
BA, University of Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3307
E-mail: aoleson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 318 Severance Hall
Fax: 563.589.3576

Sandy Ragona
Sandy Ragona
Adjunct Instructor of Sociology

MSEd, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
BA, Central College

E-mail: srragona@dbq.edu 

Biography - Click Here

Retired School Counselor: 30 years at J.F.Kennedy School, Dubuque

Author: 5 books related to bullying, storytelling, and motivation to come to school National Workshop Presenter: Seattle, Chicago, Las Vegas, New Orleans


Caitlin  Vrotsos-Siemionko
Caitlin  Vrotsos-Siemionko
Adjunct Instructor

MS, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

E-mail: cvrotsos@dbq.edu 

Abby Wessel
Abby Wessel
Adjunct Instructor

JD, Roger Williams University
BS, Lewis University

E-mail: aswessel@dbq.edu 
Biography - Click Here

Practice of Law: Admitted, Iowa, 2010; Admitted, Florida, 2009

Rickert & Wessel Law Office, P.C., Partner, Reinbeck, Iowa

 Professional Associations and Memberships:

 Member Iowa State Bar Association

 Member Grundy County Bar Association

Vice-President, 2010-Present 

Member Florida State Bar Association 

Member American Bar Association 

Adjunct Professor at the University of Dubuque: Criminal Procedure, Criminology, Social Problems


Heidi Zull
Heidi Zull
Adjunct Instructor of Sociology

BA, University of Dubuque

E-mail: hzull@dbq.edu