University of Dubuque

shadow

Computer Science and Mathematics Faculty

Teresa Nickeson
Teresa Nickeson
Biography - Click Here

24 years of information technology industry experience, McGraw-Hill, from programming intern to VP, Sales and Marketing Applications for McGraw-Hill Education.

Two years as a CIS and Accounting adjunct at Scott Community College in Bettendorf, IA.

Two years teaching CIS, Accounting and Business classes for Axia Community College (a division of Phoenix Online).

Full -time CIS instructor at University of Dubuque since 2007.

Computer Science and Math Department Chair, Associate Professor

MBA,University of Dubuque; BS, University of Wisconsin-Platteville



Email: tnickeson@dbq.edu 
nickeson@willinet.net 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3183
Fax: (563) 589-3410
Office Location: 218 Dunlap Technology Center

Randy Anderson
Randy Anderson
Adjunct Professor

MS, Regis University



Email: randerson@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3799
Office Location: 309 Goldthorp Hall, Science Center

Shilpa Balan
Shilpa Balan
Biography - Click Here

Research: 

Primary research interests: Data Mining, Business Intelligence, Group Support Systems, Health IS, Supply Chain, Computer Ethics. 

Publications and Conference Proceedings: 

Balan, S.(2013). Sentiment Analysis of Academic Plagiarism Detection Tools. ISECON. 

Balan,S., Ammeter,T.(2013, April). Impact of Social Networks on Healthcare Innovation. GSC Research. University of Mississippi. 

Balan,S., Conlon,S.(2012, November). Comparing Green Supply Chain Practices in Healthcare. DSI Proceedings. 

Balan,S., Conlon,S.(2012, November). Content Analysis of E-book Reviews. DSI Proceedings. 

Balan,S., Conlon,S.(2012, August). Evaluating Best Practices in Green Supply Chain. AMCIS Proceedings. 

Conlon,S., Strong,J., Balan,S., Sheikh,M.(2012). Automatic Extraction of Information on Terrorist Incidents from the Internet. DSI Proceedings. 

Balan,S., Aiken,M., Hazarika,B.(2011, October). Exploring the Feasibility of Mobile Multilingual Electronic Meetings. Issues in Information Systems, 12 (1), p16-22. 

Aiken,M., Balan,S. (2011). An Analysis of Google Translate Accuracy. Translation Journal. Volume 16. http://translationjournal.net/journal/56google.htm

Aiken,M., Park,M., Balan,S.(2010). A Prototype System for Machine Interpretation. Translation Journal.Volume 14. http://translationjournal.net/journal/53mi.htm

Aiken,M., Balan,S., Vanjani,M., Garner,B.(2010). The Effect of Comment Errors in Multilingual Meetings. Communications of the IIMA.Volume 10. Issue 4. p49-60 

Aiken,M., Simmons,L., Balan, S. (2010). Automatic Interpretation of English Speech. Issues in Information Systems, 11(1), p129-133 Conference Proceedings 

Conlon,S., Balan,S., Hazarika, B.(2011, October). Extracting Online Information about the Impact of Natural Disasters on Supply Chains. IACIS. 

Aiken,M., Ghosh,K., Balan,S.(2010,October). Automatic Translation of Multilingual Comments in Electronic Meetings. Advances in Business Research.

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems

PhD, University of Mississippi; MS, Boise State University; MS, Bombay University



Email: sbalan@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3681
Office Location: 219 Dunlap Technology Center

Jennifer Benson
Jennifer Benson
Teaching Specialist Faculty, Department of Natural and Applied Sciences/Math

MAT, Webster University, St. Louis, MO



Email: jbenson@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3426
Fax: (563) 589-3416
Office Location: 302 Smith Hall

Tyler Daugherty
Adjunct Professor of CIS
Email: tdaugherty@dbq.edu 

James Drury
James Drury
Biography - Click Here

James Drury graduated with honors from the University of Dubuque with a BS in Flight Operations and Aviation Management, with a minor in Business.  He is currently scheduled to complete his BBA in the Fall of 2013.  James is an FAA certified Ground Instructor with Advanced and Instrument ratings.  Before receiving his BS, James worked as a peer tutor in the Academic Success Center.  In addition to working as a professional math tutor, James teaches developmental math at the University of Dubuque. 

Professional Tutor/Adjunct Instructor

MBA, BS, University of Dubuque



Email: jdrury@dbq.edu 
james.h.drury@gmail.com 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3679
Fax: (563) 589-3722
Office Location: 213 Charles C. Myers Library

Terry Dunn, Jr.
Terry Dunn, Jr.
Assistant Athletic Director; Event Manager for Sports
Email: tdunn@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3275
Fax: (563) 589-3177
Office Location: 402 McCormick Gym

Freddy Frick
Freddy Frick
Adjunct Professor of CIS
BS-Computer Information Technology-University of Dubuque 2007; MBA(In Progress)-University of Dubuque 2013

Email: ffrick@dbq.edu 

Corissa Goertzen
Corissa Goertzen
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of Iowa; MA, University of South Dakota; BA, Wartburg College

Email: cgoertzen@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3413
Office Location: 225 Dunlap Technology Center

Perry Henkes
Perry Henkes
Adjunct Computer Information Services Faculty
BS, University of Dubuque

Email: phenkes@dbq.edu 

Monica Meissen
Monica Meissen
Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Ph.D., University of Iowa; BA, Beloit College



Email: mmeissen@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3612
Fax: (563) 589-3688
Office Location: 217 Dunlap Technology Center

Philip Polstra
Philip Polstra
Associate Professor and Hacker-in-Residence
PhD, Northcentral University; MS, Purdue University; BA, Calvin College

Email: ppolstra@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3233
Office Location: Jackaline Dunlap Technology Center

Richard (Dick) Smith
Richard (Dick) Smith
Assistant Professor, Department of Natural and Applied Sciences

MA, BS Loras College



Email: dsmith@dbq.edu 
joydismith@mchsi.com 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3276
Fax: (563) 589-3688
Office Location: 226D Science Center

Marie Weber
Marie Weber
Adjunct Mathematics Faculty
Email: maweber@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3149
Office Location: 309A Science Hall

Roseanne Wolf
Roseanne Wolf
Assistant Professor of Mathematics

PhD, University of Iowa; MS, University of Iowa; BS, Buena Vista University



Email: rwolf@dbq.edu 
Office Phone: (563) 589-3716
Fax: (563) 589-589-3688
Office Location: 214 Dunlap Technology Center