Hanus Named 2012 Gagliardi Trophy Finalist

Nov 20, 2012 | J.Crane

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA – The University of Dubuque is proud to announce senior quarterback Wyatt Hanus (Traer, Iowa/North Tama) was named a finalist for the 2012 Gagliardi Trophy given to the most outstanding football player in NCAA Division III by Jostens and the J-Club of St. John's University of Minnesota. The award is named after recently retired Saint John’s legendary head football coach John Gagliardi. The Gagliardi Trophy, given annually since 1993, recognizes excellence in athletics, academics and community service.

Hanus, the 2012 Iowa Conference Offensive MVP and a two-time First Team All-Conference performer follows in the footsteps of 2011 Gagliardi Trophy winner Michael Zweifel. In addition to his on the field awards, he is a three-time Academic All-Conference award winner, two-time First Team Capital One Academic All-District, and Second Team Academic All-America in 2011. A double major in accounting and business marketing with a 3.85 GPA, he is on pace to graduate in May of 2013.

Hanus completed 258 of 390 passes for 3165 yards and 27 touchdowns this season. He ranks sixth among all Division III quarterback in passing yards (3165), ninth in yards per game (316.5), tenth in completions per game (25.8), and 29th in passing efficiency (153.58).  He concludes his time at UD as the school’s career leader in passing yards (8,394), completions (670) and touchdowns (82). Hanus is currently the DIII career leader among all active quarterbacks in passing efficiency at 162.76. He also ranks third in completion percentage (67.75), fourth in yards (8,394), fourth in passing touchdowns (82), and seventh in completions (989).

The other finalists for the award are seniors Zach Autenrieb of Thomas More, Nick Driskill of Mount Union, Luke Heinsohn of Washington & Lee, Curtis James of St. Thomas, Noah Joseph of Union, Craig Sykes of Heidelberg, Nate Wara of UW-Oshkosh, and Scottie Williams of Elmhurst. McCallum Foote of Middlebury is the only junior to make the Top-10.

The Gagliardi Trophy will be presented on Wednesday, December 12, in Salem, Va., home of the Stagg Bowl, at a banquet kicking-off the D-III championship weekend.  Candidates are nominated by their college president.  The top four vote-getters, as determined by a national selection committee, will be on hand for the banquet; announcement of the winner and presentation of the trophy will be made at that time. The Gagliardi Trophy national selection committee is composed of 38 former small college football players, business leaders, academicians and sports writers from around the country. 

The trophy design features a sculpture of Gagliardi and a player representing the teacher-coach and the student-athlete in a classic one-on-one sideline consultation.  Hand-cast in bronze on a polished wood base, the trophy stands nearly two-feet tall and weighs 64 pounds.  The words "Division III Player of the Year" and "Honoring Excellence in Football, Academics and Community Service" are etched in glass on two panels flanking the figures.