Hanus Named Duane Schroeder IIAC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Jan 15, 2014 | UD Sports Info

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) announced today that former University of Dubuque football player Wyatt Hanus (Traer, Iowa/North Tama) has been named the Duane Schroeder IIAC Male Scholar Athlete of the Year for the 2012-2013 academic year.
"This is always a special day for our office and for the conference," said Iowa Conference Commissioner Chuck Yrigoyen. "Among the many outstanding nominees for the Duane Schroeder and Johanna Olson Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards, two model Iowa Conference young people emerged. Wyatt Hanus put up dizzying numbers on the field and in the classroom at the University of Dubuque.Shari Huber meshed her excellent school work with stellar play for a Luther softball team that was one of the best in Division III during her career. Not surprisingly, both Wyatt and Shari are still achieving great things. We look forward to honoring both of them – and the other nominees who made for an extremely competitive selection process – at our annual banquet in May."
Hanus graduated Magna Cum Laude in May 2013 with a 3.86 grade point average as an accounting and business administration double major with a concentration in marketing. He earned CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-America® honors in both 2011 (second team) and 2012 (first team). Hanus was also named to the Hampshire Honor Society by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and was a NFF Scholar-Athlete semifinalist. He was also one of 10 finalists for the Gagliardi Trophy, which honors the top student-athlete in Division III football, and was an AFCA Allstate Good Works Team nominee. Hanus was also named to the Iowa Conference All-Academic Team three times and made the Dean's List in each of his eight semesters at Dubuque. In May 2013, he was invited by the NFL's Minnesota Vikings to participate in their annual rookie mini-camp on a tryout basis. He is currently employed as an audit associate at Honkamp Krueger & Co., P.C. in Dubuque and is also pursuing a Master of Business Administration degree at the University of Dubuque.

"He has proven his ability to work well in teams and to take on a leadership role, a true demonstration of his ability to work exceptionally well with others," University of Dubuque Associate Professor of Business Craig Marty said. "However, what I found interesting in watching Wyatt was his progress as a student leader … it is clear to me that Wyatt either inherited or developed a terrific work ethic, as he is always working to improve himself. Wyatt's educational accomplishments are very strong; his dedication to hard work is seen not only in his own work record, but in the ability to improve himself every year."
A two-year football team captain, Hanus was also a campus tutor in accounting and a member of Dubuque's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. He also organized campus fundraising for Opening Doors – a shelter for homeless women and children in the Dubuque area – and helped coordinate a fundraiser for Alzheimer's awareness that resulted in over $3,000 being donated to the Alzheimer's Association. Hanus has also volunteered his time at the local YMCA working with underprivileged and at-risk youths. Additionally, he is a referee for a fourth-grade soccer program in his hometown.
"Wyatt's work ethic is hard to match and was nothing short of exceptional in the classroom and on the field," said University of Dubuque Head Football Coach Stan Zweifel. "He truly exemplifies what it takes to excel and thrive as a student-athlete … He always put the time into academic excellence and set a tremendous example for our program."
"He epitomizes the notion of Division III athletics," Zweifel added. "He was engaged throughout our campus and community and was always focused on academic excellence while having unparalleled success on the football field."
Hanus was a two-time All-Iowa Conference first-team quarterback for the Spartans who earned Offensive MVP honors as a senior in 2012. A three-year starter, he played in 33 games, completing 670 passes for 8,394 yards and 82 touchdowns. In 2011, Hanus led the Spartans to the program's first Iowa Conference title in 31 years, through for 3,490 yards and 44 touchdowns. He led Division III in points responsible for (25.27 per game), passing touchdowns, ranked second in passing efficiency, fourth in passing yards, fifth in total offense (319 yards per game) and was ninth in passing (317.3 ypg). For his exploits, he was named the Joseph T. St. Lawrence Division III National Junior Player of the Year by the D3 Senior Classic. The following season, Hanus ranked 10th in Division III in completions per game (25.8) and total yards (3,165) as the Spartans again boasted the league's top passing offense en route to a second-place IIAC finish. He graduated holding two Iowa Conference records – touchdown passes in a single conference game (7 vs. Buena Vista, Oct. 22, 2011) and touchdown passes in an IIAC season (35).

Also nominated for the 2012-2013 Duane Schroeder IIAC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year were former Buena Vista University wrestler Brian Broll (Chaska, Minn./Waconia) and former Luther College basketball player Tyler Wedemeier (Westgate, Iowa/West Central).
Hanus and this year's women's winner – former Luther College softball player Shari Huber – will be honored at the Conference's annual awards banquet in May.

About the IIAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards
The IIAC Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards were first presented in December 2001 for the 2000-01 academic year. To be eligible for nomination, a student-athlete shall have graduated or exhausted their athletic eligibility during the academic year for which the award is given. He must have demonstrated a high level of accomplishment and achievement in a varsity sport, have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5 (on a 4.0 scale), and show evidence of scholarly achievements, community service involvement and leadership.
Previous recipients of the Duane Schroeder IIAC Male Scholar Athlete of the Year include Tim Vinyard (2000-01, Coe College football and baseball), Dale Biser (2001-02, Cornell College football and track & field), Jesse Harris(2002-03, Simpson College basketball), Brent Showalter (2003-04, Wartburg College track & field), Garrett South (2004-05, Luther College wrestling), Adam Duerfeldt (2005-06, Central College baseball), Adam Bohach (2006-07, Luther College cross country and track & field), Kyle Duchman (2007-08, Wartburg College football), Alec Bonander (2008-09, Luther College wrestling), Tyler Burkle (2009-10, Coe College wrestling), Ryan Schisler (2010-11, Coe College baseball) and Michael Zweifel (2011-12, University of Dubuque football).
About Duane Schroeder
The IIAC Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award is named in honor of the late Duane Schroeder, the former Wartburg College sports information director. Schroeder served as Wartburg's SID for 43 years until his retirement in 2000. Upon his retirement from his sports information duties, he was named SID Emeritus and served as Wartburg's News Director until 2001. During much of his four decades at Wartburg, Schroeder served as the IIAC's secretary and treasurer.