University of Dubuque Spartans ​Earn Automatic Berth to 2014 NCAA Womens’ Soccer Regional

Nov 13, 2014

2014 NCAA Women's Soccer Official Program


University of Dubuque Spartans ​Earn Automatic Berth to 2014 NCAA Women's Soccer Regional

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Committee announced Monday the field of 64 teams for the 2014 Division III Women’s Soccer Championship. The University of Dubuque women’s soccer team, under the direction of head coach Jason Berna, learned the Spartans will travel to Wheaton, Ill. to compete in the regional on Nov. 14-15 at Joe Bean Stadium on the campus of Wheaton College. The Spartans will play the Illinois Wesleyan University Titans on Nov. 14 at 1:30 p.m. (CST), the winner will advance to Saturday’s Nov. 15 final at 1:00 p.m. (CST).

The Spartans won the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) championship and also captured the IIAC Tournament Championship on Saturday with a 0-0 win over the Central College Dutch by winning the shootout in third overtime by a score of 6-5. The Spartans (16-4-1 overall, 6-1 in the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference) are making their second NCAA Division III Tournament appearance (2009 – loss to Concordia-Moorhead 0-2 in regional held at Macalester College in St. Paul). They will face the Titans (14-6-1 overall, 5-1-1 in the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin) who qualified for their seventh appearance and have a 3-3 record in the tournament.

In the other first round match on Friday, CCIW automatic qualifier and host school Wheaton College (18-1-2) will entertain Hope College (16-3-2) at 11:00 a.m., the automatic qualifier from the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. Admission for each day is for $6 for adults, $3 for students and senior citizens, $2 for ages 3-12. No free passes will be accepted. To buy tournament tickets with a credit card, fans will need to log-in at addresses below as they will not offer to take credit cards on site. 

Women’s round 1 -
Women’s round 2 -

Forty-four conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2014 championship. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which include institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any Pool B teams. There were no separate berths awarded this year to Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions who are members of conferences which do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. 

Sixteen four-team sites will conduct first- and second-round play on the first weekend of the championship, Nov. 14-15 or 15-16. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites Nov. 21-22 or 22-23. All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the semifinals Dec. 5-6, at Swope Soccer Village in Kansas City, Missouri.

Bracket available here:

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (44):
• Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference -- Pennsylvania State University, Erie, the Behrend College
• American Southwest Conference -- Hardin-Simmons University
• Capital Athletic Conference -- Frostburg State University
• Centennial Conference -- Swarthmore College
• City University of New York Athletic Conference -- Brooklyn College
• College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin -- Wheaton College (Ill.)
• Colonial States Athletic Conference -- Cabrini College
• Commonwealth Conference -- Stevenson University
• The Commonwealth Coast Conference -- Roger Williams University
• Empire 8 -- Nazareth College
• Freedom Conference -- Misericordia University
• Great Northeast Athletic Conference -- Lasell College
• Great South Athletic Conference -- Salem College
• Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference -- Hanover College
• Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- University of Dubuque
• Landmark Conference -- Catholic University
• Liberty League -- William Smith College
• Little East Conference -- Keene State College
• Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference -- Worcester State University
• Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association -- Hope College
• Midwest Conference -- Lake Forest College
• Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Augsburg College
• New England Collegiate Conference -- Lesley University
• New England Small College Athletic Conference -- Connecticut College
• New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference -- Springfield College
• New Jersey Athletic Conference -- Montclair State University
• North Atlantic Conference -- Colby-Sawyer College
• North Coast Athletic Conference -- Kenyon College
• North Eastern Athletic Conference -- Penn State Berks College
• Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference -- Aurora University
• Northwest Conference -- University of Puget Sound
• Ohio Athletic Conference -- Capital University
• Old Dominion Athletic Conference -- Lynchburg College
• Presidents’Athletic Conference -- Thomas More College
• St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Webster University
• Skyline Conference -- Farmingdale State College
• Southern Athletic Association -- Centre College
• Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- University of Redlands
• Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference -- Trinity University (Texas)
• State University of New York Athletic Conference -- State University of New York at Geneseo
• University Athletic Association -- Carnegie Mellon University
• Upper Midwest Athletic Conference -- The College of St. Scholastica
• USA South Athletic Conference -- Maryville College (Tenn.)
• Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Association -- University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh


Pool C Berths (20):
• Allegheny College
• Amherst College
• Bowdoin College
• Brandeis University
• University of Chicago
• Christopher Newport University
• Concordia College, Moorhead
• Emory University
• Gettysburg College
• Illinois Wesleyan University
• Ithaca College
• Johns Hopkins University
• Massachusetts Institute of Technology
• Messiah College
• New York University
• The College of New Jersey
• The University of Texas at Tyler
• Washington University in St. Louis
• Williams College
• University of Wisconsin-Whitewater


The University of Dubuque is a private, coeducational, professional university with a focus in the liberal arts.  Our commitment to encouraging students to explore their fullest potential is part of a rich Christian heritage that dates back to the University’s founding in 1852.

# # #