Kazmierczak’s Pole Vault Championship Highlights Day One of IIAC Championships

Feb 28, 2015




WAVERLY, Iowa – Sophomore Nicholas Kazmierczak grabbed the University of Dubuque men’s track and field team’s second-straight Iowa Conference indoor pole vault championship at Wartburg on Friday with a vault of 14’4.75”. The fab freshman team Ernest Winters, Joseph Miggins, Hurshel Ross, and Deshond Robinson captured the Spartans second IIAC title with a school and facility record in the 4x200m relay (1:29.19).

Thus far it’s shaping up to be a tight team race with UD’s men sitting in third with 33 points through six events. Wartburg (53) and Central (50) currently hold down first and second.

On the women’s side, the Spartans come into Saturday in fifth place (38 points). Wartburg (62), Luther (48.5), Central (47), and Loras (47) lead the way.

Following in the wake of Kazmierczak’s win was senior ironman Tyler Dobratz who placed second in the pole vault (13’11”). It was one of SEVEN events the Edgerton, Wis. native competed in. The multi-event specialist is fourth in the heptathlon with 2614 points. Dobratz led the field through the first three of four events on day one. The 2014 IIAC outdoor decathlon champion also placed sixth in the shot put (44’1”) and missed out on scoring with a ninth-place finish in long jump (21’0”). 

Women’s Highlights
Continuing UD’s dominance of the pole vault on the women’s side was the pair of Amandas. Freshman Amanda Sinkler earned second-place with a vault of 11’2.25” and sophomore Amanda Zbilski placed fourth with a 10’2.5”.

The distance medley team of Kiersten Wenthold, Sybbie Sears, Rachael Busjahn, and Fabiola Ortiz placed second with a time of 12:26.56.

In the women’s shot put, freshmen Tanasha Atwater (41’5.75”) and Lauren Egnarski (40’3.5”) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Nikki McKenzie earned fifth place in the long jump with a leap of 16’10.75”.

Men’s Highlights
Three Spartans, led by Ernest Winters, qualified for the 60m dash finals. Winters’ 6.93 is .01 off the Championship record set by UD’s Davivorn Dowe in 2012. Senior Kyle Williams (6.94) and freshman Deshond Robinson (7.17) also qualified.

Day Two of the IIAC Championships starts at 10:00 a.m. with the conclusion of the men's heptathlon. Running and field events start at noon.