Hanus Named Iowa Conference Offensive MVP

Nov 12, 2012 | J.Crane

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) announced today its major football awards and All-Conference team for the 2012 season. University of Dubuque senior quarterback Wyatt Hanus (Traer, Iowa / North Tama) has been named the 2012 IIAC Football Offensive Most Valuable Player. The Spartans tied for second in the Iowa Conference and finished 5-5 overall in 2012.

2012 Offensive Most Valuable Player - Wyatt Hanus, QB, University of Dubuque
The Iowa Conference's leading passer in terms of average, Hanus completed 258 of 390 passes for 3,165 yards and a league-high 27 touchdowns while directing Dubuque's league-leading passing offense. He also ranked second in the IIAC to Simpson's Taylor Nelson in pass efficiency (153.6) and total offense (314.5 ypg). Hanus topped 300 yards passing in six games, topping out at 412 yards against Central on Sept. 29. He ranks 16th in NCAA Division III in total offense and 29th in pass efficiency.

Hanus, a two-time first team all-league signal-caller, ranks fifth among Division III quarterbacks in passing yards, ninth in passing yards per game and 10th in completions per game. He concludes his career at Dubuque as the school's career leader in passing yards (8,394), completions (670) and touchdowns (82) while ranking second in passing attempts (989). Hanus holds the top two single-season UD totals in passing yards, completions and touchdowns and holds two of the top four totals in attempts and total offense.

In addition to owning seven of the top 20 single-game passing yardage totals, he holds UD's single-game marks for touchdowns (7 vs. Buena Vista, 2011) and completions (37 vs. Central, 2012). The seven touchdown passes against Buena Vista are an Iowa Conference record, as were the 35 scoring strikes in league play in 2011. Hanus figured prominently in a third IIAC record as 21 of his 37 completions at Central in 2012 went to Austin Morgan, setting a new single-game league mark for receptions.

Hanus is the second University of Dubuque student-athlete in a row to be named the league's top offensive player after 2011 Gagliardi Trophy winner Michael Zweifel, and just the third Dubuque player to be named an Iowa Conference MVP, joining Zweifel and Rick Steil, who captured the award in 1979. He was also a two-time Capital One CoSIDA Academic All-Region honoree and an Academic All-America selection in 2011. He was a semi-finalist for National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Award.

The IIAC also announced today the 2012 All-Conference Football Team. The 55-member Team includes 20 repeat All-Conference honorees including seven: Weymiller, Coe running back Brendan Leiran, Coe offensive lineman Jacob Deaton, Wartburg offensive lineman Jon Orr, Wartburg running back Reese Thompson, Wartburg defensive back Garrett McGrane and Dubuque linebacker Trevor Runkle,  who become three-time All-Conference performers. Each of the honors earned by Weymiller, Leiran and McGrane were first team honors.

Joining Hanus on the First Team All-Iowa Conference were tight end Miles Hookstead (Whitewater, Wis./Whitewater), center Richard Skaife (DeForest, Wis./DeForest), and safety Malcolm Stewart (Dubuque, Iowa/Senior). Earning Second Team All-IIAC honors for the Spartans were defensive end Marice Hill (Chicago, Ill./Rich Center), punter Doug Lillibridge (Byron, Ill./Byron), linebacker Trevor Runkle (Dodgeville, Wis./Dodgeville), and kicker Heriberto Sandoval (St. Francis, Wis./St. Francis). Sean Anderson (Yorkville, Ill./Yorkville) and Dylan Ramsey (Urbana, Iowa/Center Pointe-Urbana) were named Honorable Mention.

Conference champion Coe had a league-best 15 players selected All-Iowa Conference: eight on the first team, seven on the second team. Coe's selections were also evenly distributed on either side of the ball. There were seven on offense, seven on defense and a kicker. Simpson College followed with nine selections, just ahead of University of Dubuque and Wartburg College with eight apiece. Buena Vista University received six all-conference nods, followed by Central College with five and Loras College and Luther College with two each. Simpson and Wartburg each had five first-team selections while Dubuque had four.