Athletics Awards Banquet

May 13, 2013 | UD Sports Info

DUBUQUE, IOWA - The University of Dubuque Athletic Department celebrated the 2012-13 Senior Student-Athletes on Sunday, May 5th with its Senior Awards Banquet. Top awards handed out were Spartan Academic Achievement Award, Spartan Academic Athlete Excellence Award, Athlete of the Year, and Wendt Character Athlete Award. Academic All-American and Athletic All-American were also recognized. The Volleyball, Men's Cross Country, Women's Cross Country, Men's Soccer, Women's Soccer, and Women's Track & Field teams were honored for earning Team Academic Awards. 


Spartan Academic Achievement Award

This award goes to seniors who truly define the term "Student-Athlete"
The recipient must carry a 3.0 GPA and be a contributing member of their sport.

Name Sport Major
Matthew Allen Golf Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Ashley Barwick Soccer/Basketball/Track    Accounting/Business Admin.
Megan Bloedow Cross Country/Track Elementary Education
Michael Braden Tennis Health, Wellness, & Sport
Nicole Cihocki Track Nursing
Ian Cooper Football Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Tyler Cuchna Soccer Health, Wellness, & Recreation 
Susan Danielewski Softball/Volleyball Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Jena Darwin Basketball Nursing
Loisann DeLass Soccer Nursing
Kyle Duggan Baseball Business Admin/Accounting
Jordan Gawronski Baseball Criminal Justice
Brock Grubbs Baseball Business Admin/Communications
Wyatt Hanus Football Accounting/Business Marketing
Miles Hookstead Basketball/Football Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Shawn Iben Tennis Computer Information Systems
Demetrius Johnson Tennis Accounting
Christopher Kerr Golf Business/Accounting
Mitchell Mahmens Football Health, Wellness, & Sport
Nicholas Martin Baseball Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Nicholas McDonald Soccer Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Bethany Michaelis Cross Country Nursing
Emily Michels Softball Wellness & Exercise Science
Temwa Phiri Track & Field Health, Physical Education, & Recreation  
Trevor Runkle Football Criminal Justice
Nichole Schmaltz Tennis Nursing
Jessica Serd Softball/Volleyball Computer Graphics/Interactive Media
Richard Skaife Football Business
Derick Smith Wrestling Computer Graphics/Interactive Media
Malcolm Stewart Basketball/Football Business Admin.
Jamie Strobel Lacrosse/Soccer Health, Wellness, & Sport
Joseph Swedenhjelm    Track & Field Computer Graphics/Interactive Media
Stephen Vassalotti Football Health, Wellness, & Recreation
Kayla Vaughan Soccer Nursing
Mitchell Windle Baseball Secondary Education - English
Mollie Whiting Basketball Health, Wellness, & Recreation

Spartan Academic Athlete Excellence Award

This award is given to the Senior Female and Male letter winner with the higest cumulative GPA
Ashley Barwick Women's Soccer, Basketball, & Track
Shawn Iben Men's Tennis

Athlete of the Year

This award goes to the most outstanding senior female and male student-athlete based on           
their accomplishments on the field of play.
Mollie Whiting Women's Basketball
Wyatt Hanus Football
Nick McDonald Men's Soccer

Wendt Character Athlete Award

This award is given to the team player who best exemplifies commitment to a life of purpose and 
excellent moral character, as well as good sportsmanship and virtues such as 
truthfulness, honesty, fairness, and the Golden Rule. 

Baseball Brock Grubbs
Men's Basketball Isaiah Reeves
Women's Basketball Mollie Whiting
Men's Cross Country Dave Ploenzke
Women's Cross Country Brenda Nava
Football Trevor Runkle
Men's Golf Matt Allen & Chris Kerr               
Women's Golf Lauren Smith
Women's Lacrosse Kalee Roth
Men's Soccer Peter Hager
Women's Soccer Ashley Barwick
Softball Amber Meyer
Men's Track & Field Tyler Dobratz
Women's Track & Field Nicole Cihocki
Men's Tennis Dishon Deering
Women's Tennis Stephanie LoCasto
Volleyball Meggie Schmidt
Wrestling Derek Mizaur


Capital One/CoSIDA Academic   Athletic
Ashley Barwick 1st Team    Wyatt Hanus 3rd Team Beyond Sports Network
Wyatt Hanus 1st Team   Miles Hookstead 3rd Team Beyond Sports Network
Miles Hookstead           2nd Team          Nick McDonald 3rd Team
NWCA     Mollie Whiting Honorable Mention
Derek Mizaur     Mollie Whiting Honorable Mention WBCA 
Chris Sokol