Cross Country Repeats as All-Academic Team

Feb 14, 2014 | J.Crane

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA - The University of Dubuque Men’s and Women's Cross Country teams earned the United States Track and Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic Team Award. The UD men earned the award for the second straight year.  The Dubuque women tied for the 18th best Grade Point Average in Division-III at 3.63. A team must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.1 to earn the award. 

The Spartan men's team qualified with a team GPA of 3.12 to earn the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team Award. The men's team earned the award for the first time in the programs history in 2012. UD was one of four Iowa Conference teams to be named All-Academic and 146 total in Division-III. Ryan Mattingly (Janesville, Iowa/Janesville), Tyler Peugh (Sterling, Ill./Sterling), and David Ploenzke (Prophetstown, Ill./Prophetstown) earned Academic All-Iowa Conference with a GPA above 3.5 and at least sophomore standing in the classroom.

In total 220 unique programs were recognized, including 141 programs that had both their women’s and men’s teams earn the honor.

The UD women's team finished the fall semester with a team grade point average of 3.63, and increase in 0.25 from last year. The Spartan women had the highest team GPA of the seven IIAC schools to qualify. A total of 215 women's programs earned the honor. Brenda Breimon (Oconomowoc, Wis./Slinger), Samantha Holen (Rockford, Ill./Rockford Lutheran), Nickolette McKenzie (Hoffman Estates, Ill./William Fremd), and Brenda Nava (Chicago, Ill./Lane Tech) were named Academic All-Iowa Conference following the fall season. 

The complete list of Division-III Cross Country All-Academic Teams can be found at:
USTFCCCA All-Academic