Men's Tennis Split Iowa Conference Matches

Apr 22, 2017

DUBUQUE, Iowa- The University of Dubuque men's tennis team hit the road on Saturday for two Iowa Conference matches, winning the morning match at Simpson College 9-0 and dropping the afternoon match at Central College, 3-6.

Justin Castro and Ranfer Hernandez were the only two Spartans to win both of their matches on the day, Castro at the one slot and Hernandez at the three match. With those they both now have 11 wins this season, Castro is 11-4 with Hernandez now being 11-6. The lone doubles pairing to bring home to wins was the duo of Matthew Sablay and Ranfer Hernandez, cruising to victories in both matches. 

Up next for the Spartans is the last home match of the season, as Wartburg College comes to town on May 2nd begining at 3:30 p.m.

Univ. of Dubuque 9, Simpson College 0

Singles competition
1. Justin Castro (DBQM) def. Adam Wieser (SIMM) 6-2, 6-1
2. Matthew Sablay (DBQM) def. Zach Nelson (SIMM) 6-3, 6-0
3. Ranfer Hernandez (DBQM) def. Geoff Converse (SIMM) 6-1, 6-0
4. Jared Jhun (DBQM) def. Brett Dewerff (SIMM) 6-2, 6-2
5. Jordan Hamling (DBQM) def. Aaron Smith (SIMM) 6-1, 6-4
6. Zebulon Hill (DBQM) def. Karson Richardson (SIMM) 6-1, 6-3


Doubles competition
1. Matthew Sablay/Ranfer Hernandez (DBQM) def. Geoff Converse/Adam Wieser (SIMM) 8-1
2. Justin Castro/Jared Jhun (DBQM) def. Zach Nelson/Brett Dewerff (SIMM) 8-4
3. Jordan Hamling/Zebulon Hill (DBQM) def. Aaron Smith/Karson Richardson (SIMM) 8-1


Univ. of Dubuque 3, Central College 6

Singles competition
1. Justin Castro (DBQM) def. Garret Taylor (CENM) 2-6, 7-6, 10-3
2. Jacob Logan (CENM) def. Matthew Sablay (DBQM) 6-3, 6-4
3. Ranfer Hernandez (DBQM) def. Sam Dykstra (CENM) 7-5, 7-6
4. Tom Palmer (CENM) def. Jared Jhun (DBQM) 7-5, 7-5
5. CJ Cliff (CENM) def. Jordan Hamling (DBQM) 6-0, 6-2
6. Scott Wilson (CENM) def. Zebulin Hill (DBQM) 2-6, 6-0, 6-0


Doubles competition
1. Matthew Sablay/Ranfer Hernandez (DBQM) def. Jimmy Cunningham/CJ Cliff (CENM) 8-3
2. Garret Taylor/Danny Anderson (CENM) def. Justin Castro/Jared Jhun (DBQM) 8-6
3. Sam Dykstra/Tom Palmer (CENM) def. Jordan Hamling/Zebulin Hill (DBQM) 8-4