Men's Track and Field Claim First Indoor IIAC Championship

Feb 25, 2017



DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque men's indoor track and field team claimed it's first IIAC indoor title on Saturday, winning the championship trophy for head coach Chad Gunnelson. It was the school's 12th league title and first since 1961 in track and field. UD finished the two-day meet with 125 points, 18 points ahead of second place Central College who ended the weekend with 107 points. The women's team placed fourth with 82 points as Nebraska Wesleyan University won the indoor championships in their first year as part of the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference with 193 points.

For his efforts, Gunnelson earned his first IIAC Indoor Coach of the Year honors, joining his outdoor Co-Coach of the Year honors in 2013. The Spartans highest previous finish was in 2015 when they placed third after Wartburg and Central tied for the championship.

The Spartans also claimed MVP awards for Tanasha Atwater and Alec Bass. Atwater broke two IIAC championship records by winnning the women's shot put 14.67m/48'-1.75", and the weight Throw in 18.71m/61'-4.75" (2017). Bass won three titles en route to his MVP honors. Bass won the mile run in 4:22.74, bested the field in the 3000m run in 8:31.69, and pulled the trifecta by cruising to a three second victory in the 5,000m run in 14:44.41.

UD's Most Valuable Performer Awards:

Tanasha Atwater (Field) in 2017

Alec Bass - (track) in 2017
Ernest Winters (track) in 2015
Orlando Walton in 2007
Gregg Wiersema in 2006
Greg Ortberg in 1999

Women's current IIAC Championship record holders:
Shot Put -14.67m/48'-1.75"  (2017)
Weight Throw - 18.71m/61'-4.75" (2017)

Men's current IIAC Championship record holders:
Weight Throw - Ronald Brown  19.59m/64'-3.25" (2017)
60m dash - Ernest Winters  :06.89 (2015)
Heptahlon - Tyler Dobratz  4,750 points (2015)
Triple Jump - DeAndre Bovan  14.60m/47'-11" (2005)

IIAC Track and Field Championships
2017 Indoor (men) - UD - Chad Gunnelson
1961 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer
1959 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer
1956 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer
1955 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer
1954 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer
1953 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer
1952 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer
1951 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer
1945 Outdoor - UD - Clarence Peterson
1944 Outdoor - UD - Clarence Peterson
1941 Outdoor - UD - Moco Mercer

IIAC Finishes            Men            Women
Season Indoor Outdoor Indoor Outdoor
2012 4th 6th 7th 8th
2013 3rd 4th 6th 6th
2014 4th 4th 3rd 5th
2015 3rd 4th 3rd 5th
2016 5th 4th  4th



2017 1st TBA 4th TBA