Men's Tennis Drops Pair of A-R-C Matches

Apr 6, 2019

PELLA/INDIANOLA, Iowa - The University of Dubuque men's tennis team continued American Rivers Conference action this weekend on road, where they lost to Simpson (7-2) and Central (8-1).

Axel Cabrera Figueroa played a part in all three victories on the day for the Spartans. Against Simpson Cabrera Figueroa took down Simpson's Zach Nelson at the number one slot in singles, 6-3, 6-4. He then paired up with Bogdan Ganea in doubles to win 8-4. Those two paired up in doubles again against Central to win the closest match of the day, 8-7 and the Spartans only win against Central.

The Spartans take two weekends off before returning to conference play on April 20th against Coe and Buena Vista, with both matches being played in Dubuque.

UD 2, Simpson 7
Singles competition

1. A. Cabrera Figueroa (DBQM) def. Zach Nelson (SIMM) 6-3, 6-4
2. Reade Reiter (SIMM) def. Jason Reddy (DBQM) 3-6, 6-2, 10-3
3. Brett Dewerff (SIMM) def. Bogdan Ganea (DBQM) 6-1, 7-5
4. Matt Turnley (SIMM) def. Devon Gerber (DBQM) 6-0, 6-2
5. Peter Walkwitz (SIMM) def. Zachary Norman (DBQM) 6-2, 6-4
6. Karson Richardson (SIMM) def. Sincere Davis (DBQM), by default

Doubles competition
1. Zach Nelson/Reade Reiter (SIMM) def. Jason Reddy/Devon Gerber (DBQM) 8-1
2. A. Cabrera Figueroa/Bogdan Ganea (DBQM) def. Brett Dewerff/Matt Turnley (SIMM) 8-4
3. Peter Walkwitz/Karson Richardson (SIMM) def. Zachary Norman/Sincere Davis (DBQM), by default

UD 1 , Central 8
Singles competition
1. William Isiminger (CENM) def. A. Cabrera Figueroa (DBQM) 6-1, 6-3
2. David Boschma (CENM) def. Jason Reddy (DBQM) 6-3, 6-1
3. Josh Phillips (CENM) def. Bogdan Ganea (DBQM) 6-0, 6-1
4. Brad DiLeo (CENM) def. Devon Gerber (DBQM) 6-2, 6-0
5. Ethan St. John (CENM) def. Zachary Norman (DBQM) 6-0, 6-1
6. Ben Turnley (CENM) def. Sincere Davis (DBQM) 6-0, 6-0

Doubles competition
1. David Boschma/Danny Anderson (CENM) def. Jason Reddy/Devon Gerber (DBQM) 8-1
2. A. Cabrera Figueroa/Bogdan Ganea (DBQM) def. Kris Weeden/Brad DiLeo (CENM) 8-7
3. Jackson Lewton/Tanner Finken (CENM) def. Zachary Norman/Sincere Davis (DBQM) 8-1