Wrestling With Impressive Showing at A-R-C Duals

Jan 25, 2020

PELLA, Iowa – The University of Dubuque wrestling team had a 2-1 showing at the American Rivers Conference Duals which was highlighted by a 21-20 upset win over 20th ranked Central College.

The Spartans opened the duals against the top ranked Wartburg Knights. The Spartans evened the match at 6-6 with a fall by UD's Brandon Hazelton in :46. UD captured a hard fought victory at 149 lbs. when Luke Radeke edged Brock Rathburn (NCAA champion - 133 lbs. in 2017-18.) by a 6-4 margin. At 285 lbs., UD’s Robert Melise was leading 7-3 at heavyweight, however, he was injured and could not continue to end the match with a final score of 41-9 in favor of Wartburg.

In the second match of the day against #20 Central, Aaron Black and Brandon Hazelton got the Spartans started on a high note with a 3-0 decision and a fall in 46 seconds, respectively, to jump the Spartans out to a 9-0 lead. The Dutch pulled even at 9-9 after four matches before Jessy Diaz picked up a 6-5 decision at the midway point to put the Spartans back in the lead at 12-9.

Central won the first three matches of the back half of the match to vault ahead 20-12 heading into the final two matches. At 197, Chris Nielsen earned a 6-5 decision over Central’s Gavin Babcock to give the Spartans a chance heading into the 10th and final match. Darryl Aiello did not wait long at 285, taking Duncan Lee down immediately and sticking him in just 29 second to give the Spartans the 21-20 upset victory.

After falling at 125 to open the match against Buena Vista, the Spartans bounced back with a major decision at 133 from Hazelton and a dominate technical fall at 141 from Dakota Unpingco. The Beavers grabbed two decisions the next two matches to put UD in a 10-9 hole at the halfway point. The Spartans would go on to win four of the final five matches, with three of those wins coming as falls to cruise to a 29-13 victory.

UD is now 2-2 in A-R-C duals and will continue conference action on Friday Jan. 31st when the Spartans travel to Indianola to take on Simpson College at 7 p.m.

#1 Wartburg College 41, University of Dubuque 9 

125 — Kobey Pritchard (WAR) won by fall over Aaron Black, 4:55 (WAR, 6-0)
133 — Brandon Hazelton (DBQ) won by fall over Joe Pins, :46 (TIE, 6-6)
141 — #1 Brady Fritz (WAR) by technical fall over Isaiah Williams, 15-0 (WAR, 11-6)
149 — Luke Radeke (DBQ) won by decision over Brock Rathbun, 6-4 (WAR, 11-9)
157 — Martine Sandoval (WAR) won by fall over Jessy Diaz, 2:35 (WAR, 17-9)
165 — #6 Max Forsyth (WAR) won by decision over Zarik Anderson, 9-2 (WAR, 20-9)
174 — Paul Calo (WAR) won by fall over Logan Sears, 1:58 (WAR, 26-9)
184 — #2 Kyle Briggs (WAR) by forfeit (WAR, 32-9)
197 — Brock Meyer (WAR) won by decision over Jack Allen, 7-3 (WAR, 35-9)
285 — #6 Jordan Brandon (WAR) won by injury default over Robert Melise (WAR, 41-9)

University of Dubuque 21, #20 Central College 20
125 — Aaron Black (DBQ) won by decision over Chase Poston, (DBQ, 3-0)
133 — Brandon Hazelton (DBQ) won by fall over Eric Santana (DBQ, 9-0)
141 — #10 Daniel Radcliffe (CEN) won by decision over Dakota Unpincgo, 5-3 (DBQ, 9-3)
149 — Rob Areyano (CEN) won by fall over Greg Krulas, 2:43 (TIE, 9-9)
157 — Jessy Diaz (DBQ) won by decision over Jackson Gissel, 6-5 (DBQ, 12-9)
165 — Collin Groleau (CEN) won by decision over Zarik Anderson, 4-3 (TIE, 12-12)
174 — Griffen McBride (CEN) won by major decision over Delmontae Davis, 13-3 (CEN, 16-12)
184 — Nathan Fritz (CEN) won by major decision over Brad Kata, 10-1 (CEN, 20-12)
197 — Chris Nielsen (DBQ) won by decision over Gavin Babcock, 3-2 (CEN, 20-15)
285 — Darryl Aiello (DBQ) won by fall over Duncan Lee, :29 (DBQ, 21-20)

University of Dubuque 29, Buena Vista University 13
125 — Byron Fleming (BVU) won by major decision over Aaron Black, 20-7 (BVU, 4-0)
133 — Brandon Hazelton (DBQ) won by major decision over Brandon Foster, 14-2 (TIE, 4-4)
141 — Dakota Unpingco (DBQ) won by technical fall over Jonathan Thomas, 16-0 (DBQ, 9-4)
149 — Collin Stilson (BVU) won by decision over Michael Mutton, 9-3 (DBQ, 9-7)
157 — Teyler Bruch (BVU) won by decision over Jessy Diax, 14-7 (BVU, 10-9)
165 — Zarik Anderson (DBQ) won by fall over Parker Pruel, :22 (DBQ, 15-10)
174 — Logan Sears (DBQ) won by decision over Floyd Miller, 5-2 (DBQ, 18-10)
184 — Stephen White (BVU0 won by decision over Brad Kata, 3-2 (DBQ, 17-13)
197 — Chris Nielsen (DBQ) won by fall over Diego Escarcega, 1:42 (DBQ, 23-13)
285 — Darryl Aiello (DBQ) won by fall over Don Phillips II, :28 (DBQ, 29-13)