Residence Life Staff

Dr. Mick Miyamoto
Dr. Mick Miyamoto
Vice President and Dean of Student Life
Assistant Football Coach/Tight Ends

PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison
MS, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
BS, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Office Phone: 563.589.3270
E-mail: mmiyamoto@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons, Second Floor
Biography - Click Here

Dr. Mick Miyamoto has served as the Vice President and Dean of Student Life at the University of Dubuque since August of 2009. Prior to his time at UD, Miyamoto was Assistant Dean of Students at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for 20 years.

He graduated summa cum laude with a BS in art education at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (UW-L) in 1979. In addition he earned his M.S. in College Student Personnel Administration at UW-L in 1985. In 1993 he completed his PhD in educational administration (higher education emphasis) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In addition to serving as the Chief Student Affairs Officer for the University of Dubuque, Miyamoto also proudly volunteers as an assistant football coach for the Spartans.

He is entering his 28th year in coaching football. Five at La Crosse Logan High school (offensive and defensive line); two with the Wisconsin Badgers as a graduate assistant (tight ends); three at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls (defensive coordinator and linebackers); ten at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (tight ends); and six at the University of Dubuque (tight ends).

He was inducted into the 37th Annual Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) Hall of Fame on April 9th, 2016, he was the lone college coach inducted into the Class of 2016. The WFCA Hall of Fame inducted it’s inaugural class in 1980. Since then they have honored those who have made a difference in football in Wisconsin each year at the annual awards banquet. At the present time the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame is located in Camp Randall Stadium at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and in the Atrium at Lambeau Field in Green Bay. Miyamoto joins UD’s head football coach Stan Zweifel in the WFCA Hall of Fame (Class of 2008).

Miyamoto was a three-year starter on the offensive line at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse under College Football Hall of Fame Coach Roger Harring from 1975-1978. He is especially proud of the fact that he has the opportunity to coach alongside one of his very best former players, Miles Hookstead.

He is married to Kathy Snyder and in their blended family, they have three adult children; a son-in-law; and two grandchildren.


Raymond Anderson
Raymond Anderson
Hall Director

BBA

Office Phone: 563.589.3163
E-mail: RLAnderson@dbq.edu 

Lenell Andrews
Lenell Andrews
Hall Director


Office Phone: 563.589.3163
E-mail: lenellandrews@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons

Morgan Babcock
Morgan Babcock
Graduate Assistant for Study Abroad


E-mail: mbabcock@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306C Heritage Center

Tabitha Bartelme
Tabitha Bartelme
Mental Health Therapist for Student Support Services;
Assistant Director of Programming for Advocacy and Prevention

PsyD, Capella University

Office Phone: 563.589.3253
E-mail: tbartelme@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 205 Peters Commons

Amy Baus, Psy.D
Amy Baus, Psy.D
Director of Vocation, Civic Engagement, and Life Services; Assistant Professor of Psychology

PsyD., Southern California
MA, Roosevelt University; University for Professional Studies
BS, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Office Phone: 563.589.3132
E-mail: abaus@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 207 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419

Bridgett Boone
Bridgett Boone
Administrative Assistant/Ministry Coordinator and Gospel Choir Director

BA, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3557
E-mail: bboone@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 203 Blades Chapel
Fax: 563.589.563.589.3110

Brianna Bosshart
Brianna Bosshart
Hall Director


E-mail: bbosshart@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Park Village

Anne Funke
Anne Funke
Assistant Director of Vocation and Civic Engagement

MA, University of Northern Iowa, Postsecondary Education: Student Affairs
BA, University of Northern Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3167
E-mail: afunke@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons

Phyllis Garfield
Phyllis Garfield
Director of International Student Services and Study Abroad

MAC, University of Dubuque
BA, Midland Lutheran College

Office Phone: 563.589.3712
E-mail: pgarfiel@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306-F Heritage Center
Fax: 563.589.3482

Lauren Grohs
Lauren Grohs
Director of Student Activities

MS, University of Central Missouri
BA, University of Missouri

Office Phone: 563.589.3583
E-mail: lgrohs@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306-C Heritage Center
Fax: 563.589.3482

Rev. James Gunn
Rev. James Gunn
Edwin B. Lindsay Undergraduate Campus Chaplain

MDiv, Dubuque Theological Seminary
BA, BBA, Eastern Washington University

Office Phone: 563.589.3582
E-mail: jgunn@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 203 Blades Hall
Fax: 563.589.3419

Sandy Jewett
Sandy Jewett
Assistant Director of Employer Relations

BBA, University of Dubuque
BA, Golden Gate University

Office Phone: 563.589.3633
E-mail: sjewett@dbq.edu 
Office Location: First Floor, Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3155

Mary Kruser
Mary Kruser
Administrative Assistant to Vice President/Dean of Student Life

BS, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3128
E-mail: mkruser@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 200 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419

Rick Merfeld
Rick Merfeld
Director of Residence Life

MSE, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
BA, Luther College

Office Phone: 563.589.3438
E-mail: rmerfeld@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons, Second Floor
Fax: 563.589.3419

Erika Miller
Erika Miller
Student Engagement Office Manager


Office Phone: 563.589.3127
E-mail: emiller@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306 Heritage Center

Jasmine Nelson
Jasmine Nelson
Resident Director of Donnell Hall and Campus Houses


Office Phone: 563.589.3163
E-mail: jbnelson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Second Floor Peters Commons

Dana Perreard
Dana Perreard
Campus Pastor and Associate Chaplain for Worship

MDiv, University of Dubuque Theological Seminary BA, Whitworth University

Office Phone: 563.589.3540
E-mail: dperreard@dbq.edu 

Folashade Salu-Kosoko
Folashade Salu-Kosoko
Graduate Assistant for International Studies


E-mail: faslu@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306C Heritage Center

Adrienne Shavers
Adrienne Shavers
Hall Director


Office Phone: 563.589.3163
E-mail: ashavers@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Cassat Hall

James Sizer
James Sizer
Director of Multicultural Student Engagement

MEd, Grand Valley State University
BA, Grano Valley State University

Office Phone: 563.589.3129
E-mail: jsizer@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306B Heritage Center

Barbara Smeltzer
Barbara Smeltzer
Undergraduate Student Resources Advisor; Campus Mom

BA, University of Dubuque
MA, Clarke College

Office Phone: 563.589.3455
E-mail: bsmeltze@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 210 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419

Lindsey Ward
Lindsey Ward
Director of First-Year Experience

MSE, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
BS, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Office Phone: 563.589.3866
E-mail: lward@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306-B Heritage Center
Fax: 563.589.3482