Residence Life Staff

Mick Miyamoto
Mick Miyamoto
Vice President and Dean of Student Life

PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison
MS, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
BS, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Office Phone: 563.589.3270
E-mail: mmiyamoto@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons, Second Floor
Biography - Click Here

Mick starts his third year as the Vice President and Dean of Student Life and is privileged to serve as a volunteer assistant coach for the Spartans. Prior to coming to UD, Mick was the Assistant Dean of Students at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for 20 years. During his tenure there he coached as a volunteer for 10 seasons primarily working with Tightends and also a season with the Offensive line. In addition he served as the Offensive Coordinator for four of those years. Other coaching experiences include: University of Wisconsin-River Falls (Defensive Coordinator, Linebackers and Defensive Backs), University of Wisconsin-Madison (Graduate Assistant), and La Crosse Logan High School (Offensive and Defensive Line).

Mick has degrees in Art Education and College Student Personnel Administration from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and played offensive line there for legendary College Football Hall of Fame Coach Roger Harring. Mick earned a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1993


Tabitha Bartelme
Tabitha Bartelme
Mental Health Therapist for Student Support Services;
Assistant Director of Programming for Advocacy and Prevention

PsyD, Capella University



Office Phone: 563.589.3253
E-mail: tbartelme@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 205 Peters Commons

Amy Baus, Psy.D
Amy Baus, Psy.D
Director of Vocation, Civic Engagement, and Life Services; Assistant Professor of Psychology

PsyD., Southern California
MA, Roosevelt University; University for Professional Studies
BS, University of Wisconsin-Platteville



Office Phone: 563.589.3132
E-mail: abaus@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 207 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419

Bridgett Boone
Bridgett Boone
Administrative Assistant/Ministry Coordinator and Gospel Choir Director

BA, University of Dubuque



Office Phone: 563.589.3557
E-mail: bboone@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 203 Blades Chapel
Fax: 563.589.563.589.3110

Anne Funke
Anne Funke
Assistant Director of Vocation and Civic Engagement

MA, University of Northern Iowa, Postsecondary Education: Student Affairs

BA, University of Northern Iowa



Office Phone: 563.589.3167
E-mail: afunke@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons

Phyllis Garfield
Phyllis Garfield
Director of International Student Services and Study Abroad

MAC, University of Dubuque
BA, Midland Lutheran College

Office Phone: 563.589.3712
E-mail: pgarfiel@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306-F Heritage Center
Fax: 563.589.3482

Lauren Grohs
Lauren Grohs
Director of Student Activities

MS, University of Central Missouri
BA, University of Missouri



Office Phone: 563.589.3583
E-mail: lgrohs@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306-C Heritage Center
Fax: 563.589.3482

Rev. James Gunn
Rev. James Gunn
Edwin B. Lindsay Undergraduate Campus Chaplain

MDiv, Dubuque Theological Seminary
BA, BBA, Eastern Washington University

Office Phone: 563.589.3582
E-mail: jgunn@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 203 Blades Hall
Fax: 563.589.3419

Sandy Jewett
Sandy Jewett
Assistant Director of Employer Relations

BBA, University of Dubuque
BA, Golden Gate University

Office Phone: 563.589.3633
E-mail: sjewett@dbq.edu 
Office Location: First Floor, Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3155

Mary Kruser
Mary Kruser
Administrative Assistant to Vice President/Dean of Student Life

BS, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3128
E-mail: mkruser@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 200 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419


Rick Merfeld
Rick Merfeld
Director of Residence Life

MSE, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
BA, Luther College

Office Phone: 563.589.3438
E-mail: rmerfeld@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Peters Commons, Second Floor
Fax: 563.589.3419

Erika Miller
Student Engagement Office Manager

Office Phone: 563.589.3127
E-mail: emiller@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306 Heritage Center

Dana Perreard
Campus Pastor and Associate Chaplain for Worship
MDiv, University of Dubuque Theological Seminary BA, Whitworth University

Office Phone: 563.589.3540
E-mail: dperreard@dbq.edu 

Folashade Salu-Kosoko
Folashade Salu-Kosoko
Graduate Assistant for International Studies


E-mail: faslu@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306C Heritage Center

Adrienne Shavers
Adrienne Shavers
Hall Director


Office Phone: 563.589.3163
E-mail: ashavers@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Cassat Hall

James Sizer
James Sizer
Director of Multicultural Student Engagement

MEd, Grand Valley State University
BA, Grano Valley State University



Office Phone: 563.589.3129
E-mail: jsizer@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306B Heritage Center

Barbara Smeltzer
Barbara Smeltzer
Undergraduate Student Resources Advisor; Campus Mom

BA, University of Dubuque
MA, Clarke College

Office Phone: 563.589.3455
E-mail: bsmeltze@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 210 Peters Commons
Fax: 563.589.3419

Lindsey Ward
Lindsey Ward
Director of First-Year Experience

MSE, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
BS, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Office Phone: 563.589.3866
E-mail: lward@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 306-B Heritage Center
Fax: 563.589.3482